PDA

View Full Version : speed 400 lipo ?

kc7rjt
08-10-2005, 04:47 AM
Hello,
I am brand new to electric, and a veteran glow pilot.
That said, i just got a Sig EP-42 with a speed 400 motor.
The motor is,by sig's desc, an "upgraded" speed 400.
Sig recomends a 1300 milliamp hour nicad, i bought one and it feels auhfully heavy, i think its made of "c" cells. What would i get in LiPoly
to run this plane?

tnx...
Tom..:o

jobu
08-10-2005, 02:28 PM
I use 1500 lipos. 3 cells 11.1 volts. How many cells in the NiCd. If it has 8, a 11.1 will be ok if it is less, think abot a 7.4 or 2 cell lipo.
A 2 cell = 7.4 volts and with the difference in weight should give you close to the power of a 7 cell nicd or nimh which = 8.4 but it will last longer.
If it where me I would go with 11.1v/1500 lipo (Kokam makes a good one,Cheap) just keep you eye on the heat of the motor and don't over discharge. This battery (depending on the plane weight and so on) shoul last about 12+ minutes. The nicd will last about 8. Also the plane will be alot lighter and much much faster.
That lipo is at least 1/2 less weight of an 8 cell "C" pack with 20% more power.

Do check the heat every few minutes the first time out. There are many replacement 400 motors out there most around $10. If you do stay with elecs, think about going brushless. Its like going from steam power to rocket fuel and pretty bulletproof.
Joe

rcers
08-10-2005, 02:30 PM
You will for sure need to prop down if you go with 3s Lipoly - that is what I would do, but get a watt meter and keep the amps to 12-13 and you will be good.

You will fry the motor if you use the same prop/gearing with a 3s LiPoly.

Mike

Lazyflier
08-28-2005, 06:00 AM
Hello,
I am brand new to electric, and a veteran glow pilot.
That said, i just got a Sig EP-42 with a speed 400 motor.
The motor is,by sig's desc, an "upgraded" speed 400.