PDA

View Full Version : Brushless Motor in a Sky Fly?

cfp_flyer
12-04-2008, 03:57 AM
Wow, I'm a real virgin to this forum thing. I love the site and hope that somebody acutally sees this message.

I've been flying the Hobbico Sky Fly for several months now and I LOVE IT!!! I have already changed the control wires and doubled the size of my elevator and rudder, so it controls great! I've been able to get the loops, etc., but it's not quite strong enought to haul my camera for video without a great deal of struggle (even with the 7pack battery) I am now looking to put a brushless motor in this little baby. Did I mention that I am also a virgin to electronics/electric motors too.

I've been told that I can put a Brushless in the plane, but I don't know:
what size/type of motor
do I use the same prop or how do I find the right prop
what about the exisiting batteries will they work
any other electronics needed?
thanks to anyone who can help. Love the site.

Angler-Hi
12-04-2008, 04:09 AM
Hey friend. I actually started out on the Sky Fly myself. Yes you can put a brushless motor in her. Keep in mind, that you will need a brushless ESC. The servos in her are 5-wire servos or part of the Rx board, I can't remember. If they are 5-wire servos, they can't be used with anything else. You may want to go with the standard and get 3-wired servos. You can pick them up cheap. I don't know if you plan on trying to fly her with the stock radio or do you have your own? I ask because if you plan on changing everything out, you will need to do the same with the Rx as the stock one will not accept 3-wire servos. I would also power her with a li-po battery and get rid of that heavy Ni-mh pack. Li-pos offer more power and alot less weight.