PDA

View Full Version : Forgot to extend Antenna

Douglas
08-10-2005, 08:34 PM
No pictures but I destroyed my Wingo, almost beyond repair. I made the classic newbie mistake, basically because I am a newbie, and forgot to extend my TX antenna. Got about 150 feet away, I was all proud of myself,since I actually got 150 feet without crashing, and then it abruptly did a wing over and crashed nose first full speed into the ground. Foam flying everywhere. All the experienced flyers around me just nodded like they'd been there done that before.

Hopefully it will only take this one lesson. From now on, I do a proper pre flight.

EpoweredRc
08-10-2005, 08:41 PM
No pictures but I destroyed my Wingo, almost beyond repair. I made the classic newbie mistake, basically because I am a newbie, and forgot to extend my TX antenna. Got about 150 feet away, I was all proud of myself,since I actually got 150 feet without crashing, and then it abruptly did a wing over and crashed nose first full speed into the ground. Foam flying everywhere. All the experienced flyers around me just nodded like they'd been there done that before.

Hopefully it will only take this one lesson. From now on, I do a proper pre flight.

OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!:( Sorry to hear about that.thats one thing I love about Hitec radios and the Electron RX's they get great range I have flown ly edge before w/o the Tx antenna all the way out.

rcers
08-10-2005, 08:43 PM
w/o the Tx antenna all the way out

Bad idea - the RF module can heat significantly when the antenna is not fully extended. That and the decrease in range is, as pointed out very painful!

Mike

EpoweredRc
08-10-2005, 09:12 PM
Bad idea - the RF module can heat significantly when the antenna is not fully extended. That and the decrease in range is, as pointed out very painful!

Mike

Some people dont belive that though,A guy at my feild one day was programing a plane and I know he was messing with it for an hour or more and had the anntenna all the way down.