PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!!


REVO
12-13-2008, 07:58 PM
hi guys,

are there any sea planes that i could attach wheels to the belly, like the hybrid air? if anyone know any could you please post them?

okay, so my "Project" is this,
i want a sea plane that i could use to land/takeoff on both land and water.:eek:

i also need a plane that i could attach a bomb-dropping mechanism to the belly, so i need good lifting power.:rolleyes:

here's the catch, i want to be able to land in the water with the mechanism still on, i may mount the bomb dropping mechanism to the wings depending on how the plane sits in the water. the bomb dropping mechanism is going to be custom:D... i like the magpie AP but i can seem to find it ready to buy?????

all help is greatly appreciated!!!
Thanks a in advance!

stevecooper
12-13-2008, 08:22 PM
Heres mine , cost about 15$ to build an it will tote 8 Oz extra up with it, Wheels can but installed easy as pie but I just renforced the float and land ,taxi, & have even took-off from grass with-out wheels, I hand launch her mostly, It's just two 5$ foam gliders & some dowels and barbie skweers , your bub, steve

stevecooper
12-13-2008, 08:24 PM
REVO (http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/member.php?u=26445):: Welcome to Wattflter,, the best bunch of guy& gals you'll ever meet, steve

REVO
12-14-2008, 03:02 AM
very cool,will it lift a water balloon? is there a regular plane i can get and just put floats on it? can i add floats to a corsair?

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 03:30 AM
Hi :) A PBY would be nice, on the wheel retracs, use a control wire to the retracs, mount the servo inside the fuselage, away from the water, so the servo does not get damaged with water, thats what i would do, then you can take off water, and land on water and lower the wheels to taxi up on land, just my 2 cents worth, Take Care, Chellie

http://static.rcgroups.com/articles/ezonemag/2002/jun/pby/dcp03076_t2.jpg (http://www.rcgroups.com/articles/ezonemag/2002/jun/pby/dcp03076.jpg)

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.rcgroups.com/articles/ezonemag/2002/jun/pby/dcp03071.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php%3Ft%3D248023&usg=__DZS9pQXXowHyLdnu30NHzurN7vU=&h=359&w=640&sz=51&hl=en&start=39&tbnid=95m9YR-S1wCDaM:&tbnh=77&tbnw=137&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dpby%2Belectric%2Brc%26start%3D21%26gb v%3D2%26ndsp%3D21%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 03:37 AM
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://image2-1.rcuniverse.com/e1/forum/upfiles/355579/Vt56801.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fb.asp%3Fm%3D6129918&usg=__ul2D0-zeKU9hhRi4XghDlsmp9Es=&h=570&w=760&sz=67&hl=en&start=22&tbnid=Aykhqj1dh1yZgM:&tbnh=107&tbnw=142&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dpby%2Belectric%2Brc%2Bretracts%26star t%3D21%26gbv%3D2%26ndsp%3D21%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN

REVO
12-14-2008, 04:13 AM
are there any fighters like the corsair that i can put floats on? i like the pby, but after seeing some vids i want something more menuverable, like a fighter. but if all fails, i'm sure the pby can do some decent meneuvers.... i can mount 2 bomb dropping mechanisms under the wings in the water and on land.

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 04:26 AM
how about this plane :)

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.smilesandwags.com/Floatsite/sea60_04.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php%3Ft%3D787154&usg=__Bs3OwiHavQ5XfKKQ6yNdu6ODEGI=&h=480&w=640&sz=27&hl=en&start=12&tbnid=AgJCRGVgYMFE5M:&tbnh=103&tbnw=137&prev=/images%3Fq%3Drc%2Bsea%2Bplanes%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den %26sa%3DG

http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=rc+sea+planes&btnG=Search+Images&gbv=2


http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://www.maxfordusa.com/images/products/detail/neptune2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.maxfordusa.com/lg-neptune-60-white.aspx&usg=__CEFy_uuMLUTFAgUrPkC6W9VyvVg=&h=480&w=800&sz=28&hl=en&start=30&tbnid=hs9BQHx8YGnamM:&tbnh=86&tbnw=143&prev=/images%3Fq%3Drc%2Bboat%2Bplane%26start%3D21%26gbv% 3D2%26ndsp%3D21%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 04:48 AM
here is an Idea, get a Formosa 2, mount some GWS floats on it, with some lite weight retract on top of the floats to get them out of the way, for water take off, make it a tail dragger :) just my 2 cents worth, Chellie

http://www.rchobbies.org/gws-formosa.htm

http://www.modelflight.com.au/manuals/gws_formosa_manual.htm

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXHCR6

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXUY31&P=7

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 04:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GggjT1dPk0g


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vljKFajpjyQ&feature=related

REVO
12-14-2008, 04:50 AM
can anyone give me an answer with the corsair?

which brand should i use?/ how much weight can i lift

can i attach floats? - solution: i will make custom foam floats unless someone will tell me what ones to use...

and how much weight could a Formosa 2 lift

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 05:04 AM
can anyone give me an answer with the corsair?

which brand should i use?/ how much weight can i lift

can i attach floats? - solution: i will make custom foam floats unless someone will tell me what ones to use...

and how much weight could a Formosa 2 lift

Hi Revo :ws: the larger the plane, the more it will lift, your going to have to do some research, check out RCG, and other forums, I belive the formosa, will lift about 6oz, but you will just have to experiment with it, it all depends on the power system you use, the weight and size lipo you use, so there are a lot of Variables, that No one can answer, it all depends on what you decide to go with, hope that helps, Chellie

REVO
12-14-2008, 05:05 AM
so i should say 5oz...any info with the corsair?

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 05:10 AM
so i should say 5oz...any info with the corsair?

check out this video :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2p-RhaCbs0

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 05:19 AM
Dang, everyone is sold out of the Corsairs, you will need one with a 50" Plus wing span to carry any weight.

http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://site.raidentech.net/corsairr2.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.wonderhobby.com/f4uco5055arf.html&usg=__GK7yRw36JCnZns3yVj_EEw6qHsk=&h=417&w=700&sz=59&hl=en&start=21&um=1&tbnid=i9bTMhQ-vHXxrM:&tbnh=83&tbnw=140&prev=/images%3Fq%3Drc%2Bcorsair%2Bplane%26um%3D1%26hl%3D en%26sa%3DN

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 05:23 AM
Here you go, hurry :)
http://cgi.ebay.com/F4U-Corsair-46-RC-Remote-Nitro-Gas-Airplane-Retract-ARF_W0QQitemZ300275071961QQcmdZViewItemQQimsxZ2008 1121?IMSfp=TL0811211010001r20863

I think this would work great, with a center float and 2 float wing tips, you can extend the retract for landing on land and retract them in tha air for a water landing, just like in the video, Hope that helps, Chellie


if you build it lite, i would think that you would be able to carry a camera or payload of about 6oz with this plane

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2p-RhaCbs0&feature=channel_page

CHELLIE
12-14-2008, 06:00 AM
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXHU80&P=7

REVO
12-14-2008, 02:52 PM
how much weight will the PBY lift, that you listed up there

REVO
12-14-2008, 07:05 PM
can i get foats for a twinstar 2?
edit: someone made a custom one, never mind unless you know of some i can buy...

and as far as lifting goes, i can just buy a slower prop and get more lifting power?

CHELLIE
12-15-2008, 01:16 AM
how much weight will the PBY lift, that you listed up there My Guess would be 5 to 6 oz, after that, you will weight it down to much,

CHELLIE
12-15-2008, 01:20 AM
can i get foats for a twinstar 2?
edit: some made custom one, never mind unles you know of some i can buy...

and as far as lifting goes, i can just buy a slower prop and get more lifting power?

The prop would have to be larger in diameter with less pitch to have the same thrust as a smaller prop with more pitch, the GWS floats should work for you, you just need to do some research on your own, to find what you need, Take care, Chellie

BTW REVO what is your budget like, how much can you spend, that will determine what you will be able to achive in a water plane, water planes are EXPENSIVE :)

REVO
12-15-2008, 01:51 AM
$300 or so is my limt, i like the twinstar... anyone know the range of the spektrum dx5e?

Maine Flyer
12-15-2008, 02:49 PM
$300 or so is my limt, i like the twinstar... anyone know the range of the spektrum dx5e?
It is a full range system according to specs.

Joe

REVO
12-15-2008, 08:58 PM
i mean range in feet

Maine Flyer
12-15-2008, 10:33 PM
i mean range in feet
I don't think any of the R/C transmitter makers rate their equipment range in feet. I only have 4.5 yrs experience - relatively new at it - but most of what I have seen is line of sight. I personally can't imagine flying a plane even 1/4 mile away. I wouldn't be able to discern what the plane was doing at that range.

I use a Spektrum DX7 and a JR9303 and have never had any issues with range. Both are full range systems. I have twenty aircraft configured and flying on the 9303. I fly only electric now but also used these radios on glow without issue. I used a DX6, designated a "parkfkyer" system, when they first came out on smaller planes and never had any issues with range.

I just purchased a couple of AR500 receivers - the same that comes with the DX5e - and I plan to use them in sailplanes and fly them kind of high.

So, I don't think you really need to worry about range flying any R/C aircraft with this equipment.

HTH,
Joe