PDA

View Full Version : New to this and love warbirds

Grasshopper
02-14-2006, 03:47 AM
Hello to all,

I'm new to the electric sport and also to these forums. I used to fly gas but it's been some time ago. I have recently taken the easy way out and purchased a PZ J3 Cub to get the feel of it again. So far so good, three flights and plane is still in one piece. I have also purchased a PZ P-51 which should arrive this week. I'll put it back till I'm good and comfortable with the cub.

I have a lot of questions but would first like to know how I can tell when the batteries are getting low and I need to land? Do I just do some trial and error (hopefully more trial than error) and time it with a stop watch or will the motor start to slow down? Or, do I always just stay three mistakes high in case it dies?

Any help here would be appreciated.

__________________________________________________ ________

The older I get, the faster I was.:confused:

Twmaster
02-14-2006, 05:56 AM
You should be able to listen to the motor and hear it slow down. It's also good to time the flights too. You don't really want to run it till it's hit the cut off if you can avoid it. Deadstick on some planes is kinda interesting. :)

Time your flights to get a feel for how long you can go on a pack. When you think it's time to come in you'll have some power left in the event you need to go around again.

MountainFlyer
02-14-2006, 06:01 AM
Wingswithwatts,
First off welcome, The BEC (battery engine cutoff) thats built into the ESC (electronic speed control) have a Low voltage cutoff or "LVC" that is set to turn off the power to the motor when the battery voltage drops to a selected voltage level.( it does NOT disable the power to the RX and servos though ) so the plane remains flyable