PDA

View Full Version : BEC for a Castle HV 85

mofosheee
04-17-2009, 02:30 PM
Dear Bros....I just purchased a Phoenix HV 85. I intend to utilize a 6S2P A123 to power an eFlight 90 motor. Since the instructions indicate that the ESC is without a BEC, is there a BEC that somebody can recommend? I am new to electrics. Thanks all

M0f0sheee

firemanbill
04-17-2009, 02:38 PM
This is all I use. And since it is Castle as well it'll be a good fit.

http://www.castlecreations.com/products/cc_bec.html

mofosheee
04-17-2009, 04:55 PM
Thank you!

firemanbill
04-17-2009, 05:25 PM
Glad to help!:D

kyleservicetech
04-27-2009, 09:40 PM
mofosheee
Hello
How'd you come out on that 6S2P A123 pack?

PS, I also use the Castle Creations BEC, second year now, its been flawless on my 2.4 Ghz Spektrum radio.

mofosheee
04-30-2009, 12:25 AM
Hi Dennis:

Thanks for the recommendation on the BEC, your advice is very much appreciated.

I temporairly ran out of time for this project but still advancing more slowly.

I have read and studied the task of building the packs in probably too great of detail for my own good, yet I come away very informed. You might not expect from the questions that I have posed to you that I am an oil refinery technician with experience testing and troubleshooting 3 phase 480V and 4160V equiptment (probably to my detriment)

You might recall that I obtained a few "D" cells to practice soldering on. My completed work on these cells looked perfect and with this confiednce I embarked on soldering the A123's. My finshed product was less than acceptable.

So I hunted and read more coming upon a; "hammerhead" soldering tip for my 40 watt iron, aluminum flux, a solder that is better suited for aluminum and tabs ($0.99 each) that will be required since I had to purchase cells to make a count of 12.

I have a list of vendors and web site links should you desire. Gotta run now.

I'll get back to you soon and Thanks.......

Jerry

mofosheee
04-30-2009, 04:28 AM