PDA

View Full Version : Sportsman Aviation Corsair


Nitro Blast
08-13-2005, 12:07 AM
Heres my SA F4-U Corsair.
Since these photos, I've added Robart Struts, and a pilot figure.

Its a real beauty, and just dead sexy when airborne.

http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/5722/tophattercorsair2s9tr.jpg

http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/5674/tophattercorsair3s4ai.jpg

Here is the inspiration:
http://img53.imageshack.us/img53/3426/410ts7yf.jpg

I'm no electric Guru or anything but the stats are pretty impressive.

Brushless AXI 4120/16 motor
Castle Creations 80amp digital controller
Total Battery: 22.2 Volts, 8000 mah http://www.ezboard.com/images/emoticons/devil.gif
Hitec Digital High Speed Servos
90 Degree Rotating Retract System
Total weight: 6.3 lbs
Max Thrust: 15lbs w 13/6 APC Prop

CorsairJock
08-14-2005, 05:12 AM
Indeed, the stats are impressive. And if true, you should be able to point it staight up and have blazing accelleration while doing so. I have to question the 15 lbs of thrust: maybe it's closer to 5 lbs?
In any event, I just ordered one of these for about $178 shipped (Hobby People has them on sale), but doubt that I will power it with electric as I already have an AXI 4130/16 powered H-9 Corsair. Using 6 cell 4400 mAh LiPoly and DynaTrust 14 x 8, it draws about 27 amps static, and I am getting by pretty nicely with a measly 6 lbs of thrust. All up weight is 8 lbs, 5 oz.

Nitro Blast
08-26-2005, 06:25 AM
ndeed, the stats are impressive. And if true, you should be able to point it staight up and have blazing accelleration while doing so. I have to question the 15 lbs of thrust: maybe it's closer to 5 lbs?
Ok maybe I'm not measuring thrust correctly. What I do is use an electronic fishing scale. I turn it on, zero it, and connect it in line with the airplane and a fixed object. At full throttle, with the plane pulling on the scale, it reads 15.5lbs.

IF thats not an accurate measurement for actual thrust, when please let me know the proper method to calculate it because I love to learn!

I did see that I said 13x6 prop and I actuall have 14x7 on it.

Heres a pic of the pilot and struts:
http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/2994/bigcorsair8tu.jpg

http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/1063/bigcorsair17rp.jpg

So far about two flights each flying day with no worries. I got the time set at 14 minute flights. On day one, I got the 60amp controller hot enough to cook off the shrink wrap, so we put the Castle 80 in it. After a 14 minute flight, I still had great vertical, and we temp gunned the controller and the 80 amp was only 96 degrees by the time I could get to it to check.

I also got a pice of carbon rod for the scale antenna. The one in the kit was a cheap plastic part that I knew I'd break off.

Lord Rocksavage
08-28-2005, 04:14 AM
Great looking plane. Mine is still in the box. Yours is sparking me to action.

Happy Flying,

L.R.

DickCorby
09-02-2005, 01:56 AM
Thats exactly the method I use to calculate my thrust. My fishing scale is limited to 10 Lbs however. But it works for me, and has for years. I try to get a ratio over 70% versus weight on all my planes. So far it has allowed them all to fly. The Paramount has a ratio of over 100%, and vertical at 3/4 throttle is a breeze.

DickCorby
09-02-2005, 02:02 AM
I love the Corsair, worked on them during the Korean War at FASRON 8 in Alameda. I built one (Top FLite Kit) back in the 90's and it is now retired in my daughters Pool Room.

The one thing that annoys me about all the kits they sell being they are so shiny. The real ones were actually painted in a flat paint and had little or no shine at all. Mine I sprayed with Satin Polyurethane to get the shine down.

The only shiny one that I remember was the one we kept shined up for the commanding Officer to fly at Sand Point Naval Air Station in 1954.

CorsairJock
09-02-2005, 05:21 AM
............The one thing that annoys me about all the kits they sell being they are so shiny. The real ones were actually painted in a flat paint and had little or no shine at all. .

Actually, from about 1945 on Corsairs (and ALL USN carrier based aircraft) were painted "Glossy Sea Blue", and were in fact shiny, until the light gray schemes were introduced in the late 50s.
The finish did not remain shiny, especially the carrier based ones which where constantly exposed to the salty sea air.

DickCorby
09-02-2005, 05:43 AM
I stand corrected. All I know is that all the ones I worked on, Some with bloody cockpits, were a flat paint, and I made mine flat as possible to create that embiance.

And if I want to build scale, I try to go with my memory - weak as it might be.

DickCorby
09-02-2005, 05:45 AM
Here is an image of the Corsair before conversion to electric. Painted over silver monocote so that the finish looked real after hangar rash.

Cubano8
09-21-2005, 07:43 PM
:d :d :)

Nitro Blast
04-14-2009, 05:31 AM
Just an update... thread started in '05, and here we are in '09 and she's still flying great.

I've updated the battery set to the Hyperion 3S 3300mAh two packs in series. This is less than half the weight of what I was originally carrying, and the plane's performance is so much nicer.

Nitro Blast
05-04-2009, 11:39 PM
I was given this in flight Photo, and its a rare one for me. I dont have many photos of my planes in flight!

http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/6717/corsairatfear08cropu.jpg

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/4995/corsairatfear08.jpg


A keeper for me for sure!

Chalmrast
06-18-2009, 06:39 PM
Can you tell me where in the heck people buy Sportsman Aviation planes? I must be missing something because I can never seem to find a US vendor for them.

Certified Corsair addict here! I'm in the process of repairing my CMP .50 I have an H&M in the box and a Top Flite 60 built just waiting for electrics! This Sportsman Aviation Corsair looks exactly like the H&M concerning the specs. H&M went out of business & you can now get them pretty cheap on e-bay.

Here's some video of mine....

http://www.vimeo.com/3907336

CorsairJock
06-18-2009, 08:31 PM
Hobby People used to sell them, they haven't been available for a year or more, I'm pretty sure it was discontinued.
BUT, you are right: the H&M Corsair DOES appear to be the same model, only with different covering. And if I didn't already have a N.I.B. Sprortsman Avaition version, I would be all over one of them e-bay specials.

Nitro Blast
06-18-2009, 08:41 PM
I always thought the SA version was real close to the Great Planes version...

CorsairJock
06-18-2009, 08:51 PM
I always thought the SA version was real close to the Great Planes version...

I see absolutely no relation/ likeness of those 2.

baron2010
06-18-2009, 08:52 PM
I think I know the answer to my question but gonna ask anyway, this
old man (newbie) loves the Corsair, but does anyone know of a READY
TO FLY Corsair package, ??? I'm only flying 2 channel "toy" Avion-IO,
my hands won't allow me building, and pension doesn't allow for much
more ....just wondering & wishing!!:ws:
Thanks
don

CorsairJock
06-18-2009, 08:55 PM
There are several smaller (40 ~ 45" span) foam electric Corsairs that are ready to fly (complete with installed radio gear), all in the $200 range. My vote goes for the ParkZone version.

baron2010
06-18-2009, 08:58 PM
Hey Thanks for the info Corsair....I'll take a look at this info...who knows
mebbe the Prez will give me some stimulus $$ I can spend!!LOL
thanks
don

Old Fart
06-18-2009, 11:14 PM
I see absolutely no relation/ likeness of those 2.

Doesn't look like mine (ignore the butt ugly model :) )

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u172/jmcrae94yj/RC/172_7278.jpg

Nitro Blast
06-18-2009, 11:25 PM
I think I know the answer to my question but gonna ask anyway, this
old man (newbie) loves the Corsair, but does anyone know of a READY
TO FLY Corsair package, ??? I'm only flying 2 channel "toy" Avion-IO,
my hands won't allow me building, and pension doesn't allow for much
more ....just wondering & wishing!!:ws:
Thanks
don

Check out Hobby Lobby, they have the Alfa Corsair. I had one for a long time, and loved every minute of it.

http://www.hobby-lobby.com/corsairf4u.htm
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/images_templ/swap-images/alf208_xlg.jpg


I see absolutely no relation/ likeness of those 2.

Yes, I meant the Hangar 9 version. My bad.

gfdengine204
06-18-2009, 11:38 PM
Doesn't look like mine (ignore the butt ugly model :) )

http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u172/jmcrae94yj/RC/172_7278.jpg

Dang, she IS ugly.....LOL

CorsairJock
06-19-2009, 12:28 AM
Yes, I meant the Hangar 9 version. My bad.

Now THAT, I can agree on. In fact, I have stated before: the SA Corsair looks EXACTLY like the Hangar 9 one, only slightly smaller. It appears that they even have the same retracts (except with possibly shorter struts).
It's as if SA took the H-9 plans, downsized them some, and came up with their version, which now appears to have evolved into the H&M Corsair.

guapoman2000
12-07-2009, 03:42 PM
Ok maybe I'm not measuring thrust correctly. What I do is use an electronic fishing scale. I turn it on, zero it, and connect it in line with the airplane and a fixed object. At full throttle, with the plane pulling on the scale, it reads 15.5lbs.

IF thats not an accurate measurement for actual thrust, when please let me know the proper method to calculate it because I love to learn!

I did see that I said 13x6 prop and I actuall have 14x7 on it.

Heres a pic of the pilot and struts:
http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/2994/bigcorsair8tu.jpg

http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/1063/bigcorsair17rp.jpg

So far about two flights each flying day with no worries. I got the time set at 14 minute flights. On day one, I got the 60amp controller hot enough to cook off the shrink wrap, so we put the Castle 80 in it. After a 14 minute flight, I still had great vertical, and we temp gunned the controller and the 80 amp was only 96 degrees by the time I could get to it to check.

I also got a pice of carbon rod for the scale antenna. The one in the kit was a cheap plastic part that I knew I'd break off.


Nitroblast,

Can you provide a link to those nice Struts?

I have been looking and looking for some struts like those and just can not figure out which ones will work on mine!

Thanks!
Carlos:)

Nitro Blast
12-07-2009, 03:56 PM
Nitroblast,

Can you provide a link to those nice Struts?

I have been looking and looking for some struts like those and just can not figure out which ones will work on mine!

Thanks!
Carlos:)


http://robart.com/RoboStruts/380_series.aspx

these are the ones I used. I simply had to cut off the old gear leaving enough straight rod to attach the struts to. Everyone thinks they are Robart retracts as it looks so good. I think the struts are designed to replace fixed gear but they worked awesome for this app.

guapoman2000
12-07-2009, 04:07 PM
Thank you for that fast reply!

I am still at a loss of where you can obtain the STOCK Sportsman Aviation 90 degree rotating Struts as I like to make the same application to one certain CMP models of identical wing span and dimensions!

I have sent an e-mail to Global Hobby and hoping for the best as I just can not see where you can get the STOCK retracts for this particular model.

The CMP came with some really cheap 90 rotational retracts and the wire pivets as soon as you look at it! Does not sit well on take-off or landings!

If you know of any place, let me know.

Thanks again!
Carlos:cool:

guapoman2000
12-07-2009, 04:11 PM
Hi Guys!

Great Looking F4U that I acquired on Sunday during the Moon Port Modelers RC Club's FUN FLY.

I will need to change out the cheesy 90 degree rotating Retracts to something of better quality.

Here is a link to the pictures!
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=13756046&postcount=1792 (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=13756046&postcount=1792)

fieldofdreamsflyer
10-18-2010, 07:53 PM
very nice flying airplane

Old Fart
10-18-2010, 08:03 PM
"fieldofdreamsflyer"?

You should recognize the background in post #20 - and possibly the plane and pilot :)

fieldofdreamsflyer
10-18-2010, 08:11 PM
"fieldofdreamsflyer"?

You should recognize the background in post #20 - and possibly the plane and pilot :)

Yes I go there almost everyday and have seen you fly there

Old Fart
10-18-2010, 08:32 PM
As soon as my move to Torrance is complete I'll be spending a lot more time there - my electrics are getting neglected (and quite a few of them I won't fly at El Dorado)

How's it working out with the maintenance folks?

Nitro Blast
05-06-2012, 06:54 PM
Well, after 7+ years of service, the AXI 4120/18 in my trusty F4-U Corsair gave up the ghost yesterday...

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=159751&stc=1&d=1336326090

Nearing the end of the second (of 4) flights, I was flying some warbird formation with Bruce from the club. He was keeping our skies free with his P-51 Tuskeege, and I was his wingman. He did a fast pass down the runway, and I went WOT to catch him. Once I did, I backed out of the throttle so I wouldnt blow by him, and I heard a squeal. I went back into power and didnt have any! I dropped the mains fast, banked and headed for the threshold. I didnt have any altitude, but I had some momentum. I got it back fine, just a foot short of the runway in our soft iceplant. No Damage, except the motor. Didnt even break the prop.

Upon inspection I cooked the glue from the main winding core.
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=159753&stc=1&d=1336326696

I emailed Hobby Lobby, lets see if I can get it repaired/refurbed.

guapoman2000
05-07-2012, 11:30 PM
Good save!

Hope you can get the motor back and I will be careful with throttle with mine!

Thanks for sharing!
Carlos