PDA

View Full Version : Negative or Positive Shift

egrave
02-22-2006, 05:12 PM
I have two question one what is the differents between Negative and Postive Shift Recivers. The second question is do I use the same battery for the motor and the recever or do I use two different batterys.

Nitro Blast
02-22-2006, 05:32 PM
I'm no radio expert, but the shift differential is the way the signal is sent to the RX. Its why an Airtronics TX wont work a Futaba RX.

The BEC (battery eliminator circut) is used most commonly when the model is smaller, and the 'step down' chore from the controller to the RX doesnt have to work too hard (as it does with MONDO battery packs)

25~40 size glow models will be great with the BEC 99% of the time, Where as bigger models like my Sportsman Avaition Corsair (60~90 size)carries a battery pack for the servos (5 in total, one a retract servo).

Hope this helped, I learned the BEC lesson just in time to save this airplane!
http://img394.imageshack.us/img394/2994/bigcorsair8tu.jpg

Steve
02-22-2006, 07:30 PM
Nice Corsair Nitro!

They both work the same...just require that the TX and RX are matched and that future systems must match the shift of your TX. IF you like JR equipment, you'll always have positive shift RX. If you like Futaba or Hitec...you'll have negative. They both work equally well.

For you second question it depends on the plane, the number of servos used (and for what purpose) and whether it's an electric or gasser.

Most smaller electrics have he bec built into the ESC which in turn powers the RX and the servos at the same time.

I have two question one what is the differents between Negative and Postive Shift Recivers. The second question is do I use the same battery for the motor and the recever or do I use two different batterys.

raynet11
02-24-2006, 08:02 PM