PDA

View Full Version : Tips for a newbie

proptop
02-24-2006, 04:03 AM
Howdy all...I have a Kodak C340 that I want to experiment with.
Can any of ya help me out with how to set up the camera?

I think I know how to mount it to the airplane, (I'm thinking of modifying my slow stick to brushless and Li-Poly) and activate the shutter w/ a servo (HS-55?)
What I'm not sure of though is how to program the settings into the camera? I just got this (my first digital) camera, and it's still a bit of a mystery to me.

After seeing all the fantastic photographs you guys are taking :cool: it really makes me want to give it a try.

I have 30+ years of R/C experience, so the flying part is no problem, but aerial photography is a completely new challenge :D

TIA...Tom

aviatordave
02-24-2006, 03:03 PM
Hey Tom,

The only experience I have with anything remotely close to your camera is a Kodak C7310 (3 mp) which is quite generic when it comes to settings. I played with the exposure and quality settings during low level light conditions and found out that it performed best if I just left it alone on the default settings. I always took pics at max resolution for cropping later on. The shutter was triggered using a HS-55 on a spare channel (retract for me). Just remember while your flying, to take a picture often enough so that the sleep mode does not activate (I couldnt bypass that on my cheapo Kodak). And another point of interest is when the cameras are taking pictures at full resolution, the time to write the picture to the card is usually longer than if the resolution is at minimum.

As far as upgrading the motor and Lipo - GO FOR IT! you will be glad to have the extra power and run time. Dont forget that the slow stick will need some modifications to the wings and landing gear to accept the extra payload. If you need more info just hollar, there are alot of Slow Stick guys in here...I use the Mountain Models Magpie AP as one of my AP ships.

good luck,

Dave