PDA

View Full Version : Interesting LiPo Balancing Idea

wevets
08-13-2005, 06:43 PM
I was talking to the guys at maxamps.com (a bunch of nice guys who were very helpful) and they suggested a way to balance a stack of LiPo cells that sounded good to me and to which I've added to a bit below. Since I'm pretty new to all this and am not a battery engineer, I wanted to check first to see if anyone who actually did know what they were talking about had improvements or other comments:

Wire the battery so that each cell's negative and positive terminal come to a sperate pin on a tap connector (6 pins for a 3-cell battery). Then set up some prebuilt jumper blocks such that when flying the pack, the cells are wired in series with heavy guage wires to the ESC connector. Have another set of jumpers so that the cells are wired in parallel for charging. In this configuration, when not under charge, the cells would be self balancing as all three cells would dischage/charge into each other until at identical voltages.

Other than the extra few grams for the taps and jumpers, are there any disadvangages to this? Will the cells actually self-balance when wired in parallel?

wevets

Red Scholefield
08-13-2005, 08:11 PM
All you have to do is bring out 2 more wires for the center cell. In this way you can measure the voltage of each occasionally and if they are out by more than 10 mv you can charge them individually by picking up the right combination on wires.

The cells probably would take sometime to balance themselves if they were significantly out of balance when connected in parallel.

Tapping the cells (with pictures) is discussed in the Battery Clinic column, Model Aviation, July 05, page 114,

Lazyflier
08-26-2005, 08:08 AM
The battery mfgs have started putting taps in their lipo packs. Last set of Tanics I bought last month has them. I also see other mfgs advertising their style or system to balance the packs. So I would say we have a pretty good choice of which way to go.