PDA

View Full Version : E-Flite P-47

redgiki
02-26-2006, 06:29 PM
After weeks of the bird sitting in my garage waiting on a break in the weather, I finally maidened my e-Flite P-47 yesterday. Here are the specs:
Park 450 motor
Dymond 2100mAh LiPo. Yeah, there's no balance plug on these batteries, but they are cheap, work great, and seem to last a long time when recharged at around 0.4-0.5 amps.
Hitec Supreme radio (a little heavy for this bird, and behind the CG, so I'm going to replace it with something lighter)
Hitec HS-55 servos (3)
E-Flite brushless ESC
Master Airscrew 10x8E and E-Flite 10x8E props
Dubro scale wheel struts
Just so you know, I really like flying this bird. She's very pretty in the air, stays up for a good long while (about 12 minutes on a 2100mAh battery), and is a blast to fly. I'm going to list quite a few downsides, but it's in hopes that my bad experiences can help someone else :)

Positives:
Very easy build. I have very little build experience (I prefer flying to building), and found it very straightforward and well-documented for the power choices I made.
Once trimmed, she's very solid in a light wind.
The 10x8E prop is well-matched for this bird, even at 5000 feet elevation.
The Park 450 outrunner is a fine motor for this warbird. Very short takeoff rolls, and lots of power. At my elevation and with the extra weight of the Dubro scale struts and lots of nose weight (more on that later), I couldn't hover her using this motor, but nevertheless it provides a very pleasant flying experience.
Having a rudder available in a plane this size made my landing approaches in a crosswind much easier and prettier than in an aileron/elevator-only ship.
It's a damn pretty little electric in the air, even with a little fuselage and wing rash.