PDA

View Full Version : Glo conversion - New to electrics

skyrider
02-28-2006, 01:10 AM
Hi,
I have an ARF that I'm anxious to convert to electric power. It's an entry pattern type sold by Hobby People.
Descripton:
Sportsman Aviation EXCELLERON
Span 58 inches
Wing area 565 sq.in.
Weight ready to fly 5.5 - 6 pounds (with .50 2cycle or .70 4 cycle).

I've been building and flying model airplanes for 65 years, from H/L gliders to 1/3 Scale monsters, so I figured I'd have no trouble switching to electrics. WRONG! I've been reading various web-store sites and several electric forums and I can't seem to decide on the proper combination of motor, ESC and li-po battery.

I think that the AXI 4130-20, Hyperion 4025-12 or the Horizon Hobby Eflite Power 60 would fly this plane, but what ESC, battery and prop do I need. I have sufficient ground clearance for a 13.5 inch or maybe 14 inch prop. I looked at FMA direct's BalancePro HD LiPo battery and charger system which seems ideal. The 4000 6S2P pack looked like it would be enough power, and a 60 amp. ESC.

Am I in the ballpark? It seems that the more I read the more uncertain I become. Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Skyrider

Edit by Skyrider - Please move to 'Glo to Electric Conversions'.

Matt Kirsch
03-02-2006, 05:14 PM
Electric is a different thought process, that's for sure. With any internal-combustion solution, your entire power system is buttoned up in a nice neat little package that you hang off the firewall. Not so with an electric.

Electric is more like building up a race engine from scratch. If you've ever watched those hotrod how-to shows on TV, you'll know that there are all sorts of different blocks, cranks, cams, rods, pistons, heads, valves, lifters, pushrods, intakes, carbs, etc., and it's up to you to choose parts that not only give you the performance you're looking for, but also fit together and work together without destroying each other.