PDA

View Full Version : How to keep electronics dry????

Henry111
11-17-2009, 05:07 AM
I am preparing to purchase a Seabee Twin from G&P Sales. I have no experience with seaplans, so I am very concerned about keeping the electronics dry--while at the same time providing sufficient cooling. As you probably know, the single-engine Seabee is a pusher. But on the twin, the motors (mounted on the wing) face forward in the "normal" fashion. My tentitive plan is to put the batteries in the fuselage, and the ESCs behind the motors in the motor pods. This Seabee twin has a 72" wing span. Any suggestions for keeping "stuff" dry and at the same time provide cooling will be sincerely appreciated.
You can see photos of the model at G&P Sale here:
http://www.rcairplane.net/index3.html

Larry3215
11-17-2009, 07:19 AM
Hi Henry,

I highly recommend using a product called CorrosionX.

No matter how hard you try to protect your gear - condoms, balloons, baggies, hot glue, etc etc - if you end up going down in the water it will get into something and kill it.

I have tried every option over the years and then I read about CorrosionX, tried it and have never even considered going back.

Check out my post #3 in this thread for a full discription of how it works and how to use it.

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26120

Trust me, if you do it correctly you will never have to worry about blowing an ESC or Rx by dunking in the water again. I have actually ran motors, esc's, rx's while they were under water.

The old TV commercial for this product shows them treating an old tube type TV set. Then they plug it into an extension cord and toss it into a swimming pool. Some diver is then shown watching tv under water.

I treat everything EXCEPT servos. Some guys have reported that they open up the servos and treat only the circuit board. Thats too much trouble for me. I have had servos quit while they were wet but they have always come back after drying out.

The stuff works.