PDA

View Full Version : Good 1st WWI Plane

79CJ
11-23-2009, 06:50 PM
I have been lurking around here for a while now after getting my SuperCub and learning to fly. I am now interested in moving up to something nicer and better and I would like to get a WWI model. I really like the looks and size of all the GP birds, and would like something in that size. I know they're balsa and not foam, so repairs are more likely and difficult. I grew up building and flying Gillows and Comet kits with my Dad and flying control line, so I'm no newbie to crashes and I'm not afraid of repairs.

My main concerns are that my knowledge of RC and electronics are very limited. I know tower hobbies has all the needed equipment for the GP's listed, but the prices are a bit steep for my budget once you add it all up. I know there are people that have gotten the electronics/ radio's/ batterys elsewhere for less, so I'd really like some guidance for that route.

Also, any suggestions for other models in that size range would be great too. I'm looking for ARFs mainly, I don't really have the space right now for builds. I just finished a P-47 kit, it was a long build having to set everything out on the kitchen table and then clean it all up again every time I wanted to work on it. I think my girlfriend was a bit tired of it too...

This seems like a good forum with many helpful people. Glad to finally join in.

degreen60
11-23-2009, 07:36 PM
I know tower hobbies has all the needed equipment for the GP's listed, but the prices are a bit steep for my budget once you add it all up. I know there are people that have gotten the electronics/ radio's/ batterys elsewhere for less, so I'd really like some guidance for that route.