PDA

View Full Version : Scratchbuild Sopwith Camel

79CJ
01-07-2010, 05:22 PM
I got a round metal cowl probably about 15 years ago and have had it ever since. I have finally decided to do something with it, so I got some free Camel plans off the internet and had them blown up 152% at Kinko's to fit the 4" cowl. The WS will be 31.9". I'm trying to build light, especially the tail obviously.

I am partly doing this thread because I think I'll have some questions along the way, I've never built a model without a kit before, so this is a bit new to me.

First question, I've never been happy with how the top wing attaches on bi-planes, it always comes off so easily when you just nose over on landing. How do you guys attach them? It doesn't need to be removeable, this will be small enough.

degreen60
01-07-2010, 06:17 PM
I got a round metal cowl probably about 15 years ago and have had it ever since. I have finally decided to do something with it, so I got some free Camel plans off the internet and had them blown up 152% at Kinko's to fit the 4" cowl. The WS will be 31.9". I'm trying to build light, especially the tail obviously.

First question, I've never been happy with how the top wing attaches on bi-planes, it always comes off so easily when you just nose over on landing. How do you guys attach them? It doesn't need to be removeable, this will be small enough.

I found a metal cowl from a Berkely Beaver I use to have. I filled it with plaster of paris and made a plaster master. Now when I need a cowl I put the master in the top of a 2 liter plastic bottle and heat shrink in the oven. Makes a light weight cowl and I can make all I need. I find it fits some ARF WW1 planes too. To attach the cowl I cut a piece of the foam that is used to make flat 3D foamies(tough and don't break) just slighty larger than the dia of the cowl, glue it on the front of the fuselage and slide the cowl over it.