PDA

View Full Version : What is causing an esc to over heat my motors?

jaycook777
01-28-2010, 01:43 AM
I'm new to electric flight, but I've had 4 different electric craft now.

I just bought a Turnigy K-Force 40 amp esc and ran a motor I've had great success with. It was a Turnigy C3536-1100 and that motor fried in minutes. I thought it was the motor's fault. I just got a new Turnigy SK3530-1100 and it's getting over heated also in just a few minutes. Can someone explain this to me? ????

I have good airflow, and the first motor I had was in my Parkzone Corsair and was ran by an 80 amp K-Force esc for probably 50 flights. It was fine, I just got the smaller esc for a smaller plane.

The esc came programmed at 15 degrees, and I tried changing that to 11.5. And I tried the other two motor settings ie Normal, Special 1, Special 2. I have no idea what the other two setting are, but they made no difference either.

Thank you for your time,
Jay

cisc0box
01-28-2010, 01:45 AM
Interesting ... someone recently caught fire their Hawk Sky and was using a Turnigy ESC at the time it happened.

He stated that he used Turnigy's before without any problems but this makes me wonder. Maybe their speed controllers are having issues ...

jaycook777
01-28-2010, 01:55 AM
I never had motor power problems with the Turnigy K-Force 80 amp, but I did get a BEC voltage drop that made my Corsair crash. I know this because I had the Eagle Tree Data Logger onboard and could see the voltage drop after looking at the data.

cisc0box
01-28-2010, 01:59 AM
I know he was using the 30 amp when his plane caught on fire ...

ministeve2003
01-28-2010, 02:44 AM
I'm new to electric flight, but I've had 4 different electric craft now.