PDA

View Full Version : High Efficiency motor -Sailplane

Eclipse
07-14-2010, 05:47 AM
My friends and I are interested in designing and building a solar powered UAV and require a motor-prop setup with the best efficency when running at approximately 10-30W (for our cruise speed of about 10ms^-1).

Base on previous designs, other requirements/values are:
Motor mass < 100g (also want to minimise this)
Max power input = 150-200W (for take off)
Plane mass = 2.5kg

Im quite new to electronics and was hoping someone could propose a motor or information useful for having one custom made. If i have left out any info let me know.

Any help is much appreciated.

Sky Sharkster
07-14-2010, 12:11 PM
Hello Eclipse, Welcome to Wattflyer!
One of the highest-efficiency motors made is the Hacker brand from Germany. Although they now make outrunners, for your application I would suggest you look at the B20 "L" series of inrunners with the Maxxon 4:1 planetary gearbox. This motor/gearbox weighs 68 grams, can turn a large prop (depending upon the "Wind", the number after the B20. Like "18L").
http://www.aircraft-world.com/prod_datasheets/hm-B20.htm
http://www.shulmanaviation.com/B20SeriesMotors.html
I have a B20-15L with 4:1 gearing, in tests using a 3 cell (3S) LiPo and a 9" x 6" APC prop the numbers at full throttle are;
Amps 19.96
Watts 217
RPM 19,510
Volts 11.56
But a motor this size would struggle with the 2.5 Kg aircraft weight, you may need a different wind and larger prop.
Here's a free online motor calc, you can try different wind/prop combinations to achieve better thrust or lower amp draw.
http://brantuas.com/ezcalc/dma1.asp
Good Luck!
Ron

flydiver
07-14-2010, 06:48 PM
This is certainly over my head but that doesn't stop people from posting.:D