PDA

View Full Version : Watt P-47 would you choose?

Grasshopper
03-31-2006, 03:04 AM
Hello all,

I am considering getting a P-47 but I don't see a large variety of them out there. I've looked at the E-flight and it appears to be pretty good but I was wondering if there are any others as good or better, or some that I should just stay away from altogether. I would like to be able to do some aerobatics but am more concerned that it looks close to scale. I would also like it to be around 36" wingspan or larger but not so large I have to sink a small fortune into the motor and controls. I don't think I want to go to the trouble and expense of retracts so landing gear can be optional. As far as power and electronics, I'm wide open, I'm looking at the Spektrum DX6 system and really don't know much about motors, ESCs and batteries yet. I'm relatively new to electrics but have built a number of glow planes in the past so building is ok too.

I would like some input from the resident experts here. Thanks for your help.

Tom :rolleyes:

Jeremy Z
03-31-2006, 03:23 AM
The most scale foam ones I can think of are the E-Flite, Flying Styro, and Alfa. (the last two, you can get at hobby-lobby) They have the panel lines molded in and everything.

The GWS will be the cheapest one to power properly. You may or may not be surprised to hear that once they're in the air, they all look good. The GWS airframe only costs $30, and you can make it look as good as your skills allow. The E-Flite's bigger, and will cost more to power it properly.

Check out Hobby-Lobby.com and have a look at theirs. They have at least 3 different ones; all top quality & very scale looking. These are probably even a bit better than the E-Flite ones for scale looks.

Lastly, there are the balsa ones that you can find at www.towerhobbies.com (http://www.towerhobbies.com) Those are probably going to look the best, though not necessarily the most scale in the end.

geo8498@mac.com
03-31-2006, 03:28 AM