PDA

View Full Version : New to electric gliders need help

RaycRay
08-18-2005, 02:02 AM
I am new to gliders, I have a few other electric planes. I tried to fly my Ascent today but I could not get it more than about 20 feet off the ground under full power . I did everthing the instruction book said as far as the balancing of the plane and even a no power glide test.I noticed in another thread another member talked about the motor getting very hot and mine is the same, so I guess I need to change the prop. any advice would be greatly appreciated.
:confused:

EpoweredRc
08-18-2005, 02:11 AM
I am new to gliders, I have a few other electric planes. I tried to fly my Ascent today but I could not get it more than about 20 feet off the ground under full power . I did everthing the instruction book said as far as the balancing of the plane and even a no power glide test.I noticed in another thread another member talked about the motor getting very hot and mine is the same, so I guess I need to change the prop. any advice would be greatly appreciated.
:confused:

What kind of motor,prop,batterys,speed controller?
who sells that plane?Dont think I ever heard of one.

RaycRay
08-18-2005, 02:45 AM
It is the stock motor a Speed 400 motor w/ folding prop, the glider is a e-flite and the speed control is a e-flite 20 amp esc. And the battery is a 8.4v 600mah which I had to solder a diffrent connector on because it was the closest thing my LHS had it is made for a firebird airplane.

Jason T
08-18-2005, 03:25 AM
What is the prop size, diameter and pitch? The motor may be drawing too many amps. How much does the model weight with battery in it?

Jason

RaycRay
08-18-2005, 10:17 PM
The prop is a folding 7-3, and the flying weight is 19.5 oz.

Jason T
08-18-2005, 10:47 PM
Ray,

Everything I have ever read about the Ascent says that the stock prop of 7x3 is too much for that motor. Others are using a 6x3 folding prop. Your flying weight (AUW - all up weight) is in line with others.