PDA

View Full Version : Need Juice for a Jug---P-47 That is.

Grasshopper
04-02-2006, 05:24 AM
Hello,

I'm awaiting the arrival of an E-Flight P-47 and need some assistance. Since I'm new to all this electric stuff, I need some help with a list of items I'll need to get her in the air. I've got a clean slate to start with as I will need to get an entire system. I'm looking at the Spektrum DX6 system and would prefer to use the motor that comes with the P-47 (480 w/ gearbox). I won't be installing the gear but will most likely add the rudder function. What batteries and ESC should I use? It looks like LiPos are the way to go but then what charger would I need? I also have a Cox Micro P-47 still in the box and would like to be able to use the same charger for it if possible. Is there anywhere I can get a list of items needed?

This may be a pretty broad request and I'm sure there are as many systems as there are pilots out there but I would like to narrow it down as close as possible.

Thanks for your help.

Tom

Sky Sharkster
04-02-2006, 06:27 AM
Hi Tom, welcome back! The E-Flite P 47 is a little bigger than the typical "400" size Warbird so the packs and speed controller will be a slight bit larger, too. I'd say a Castle Creations "Sprite" 25A ESC ($45.00) would handle the load pretty well. A 2100mAh 3S Lipo should provide enough power but you'll likely need 15C or better with a "480". The most popular charger now is the GP "Triton" it'll charge LiPo, NiMh and Nicads. As the LiPos have started adding "balancing" plugs you may want to look into a separate balancer with plugs to match your choice of battery brand. There are also charger/balancer combos available, one that got a good review is the "CommonSenseRC" unit, they also have good prices on batteries. This is a LiPo-only charger, you'd need another charger if you plan to use "round cells" also.
http://www.commonsenserc.com/page.php?page=intro.htm