PDA

View Full Version : electric glider help to brushless

peter davis
08-18-2005, 01:17 PM
hi there .
I have been flying my albatros glider for about two years and would like to change to brushless motor , esc , and li po batteries .
the glider has 2 metre wingspan ,weight is 1280 gramms or 45 ozs , it has a speed 600 motor , 8 inch folding prop and 7 cell nicad 1300 mah batteries and is very underpowered .
After reading lots of confusing information, I'm thinking of using himax HA2825 - 5543 brushless , phoenix 60 amp esc , 12 x 8 folding prop and 3s 2100 mah li po batteries . Is this somwhere near the mark , or can someone offer other suggestions :confused: thanks Peter

rcjunkie
08-18-2005, 05:03 PM
Peter,

I'm not fimilar with the Himax motors but I could recommend the Jeti 30/3 or MEga 30/3 motors with a 13 x 7 or 14 x 7 on your 7 cell cp1300s'. It will pull around 35 amps and 39 amps respectively. I have flown these using a jeti 40 amp controller and never had a problem. You can also run 10 cell cp1300 with the 13 x 7 prop and kepp it right at 40 amps.

It will climb well. The KV of these motors is about 1100 rpm/volt. If the himax is close to this it may work as well.

Hope this helps.

Ernie S.

NAVYMUSTANG
08-25-2005, 03:58 PM
Peter,
For your weight, I would go with an AXI 2808/24 w Jeti 30 amp. With a 11x7 folder you can expect 28 amps wot. A 2000ma SHD 15c 11.1V.
This will take your plane vertical if you can hang on.
Climb out is about 20 seconds to altitude...It will climb with authority at 1/2 throttle
Good luck,
NM

Sidekick
08-26-2005, 06:59 AM
Hi Peter,
I am doing the exact same thing.
Contact Justin at Hobby Lobby.
He is most helpful
Sidekick.

ptb
09-12-2005, 11:41 PM
My two meter gliders, one of which is a swift, 45 oz. uses a axi 2820-10 on
8,1300 scr nicads, 11/7 prop. excelent climb! You could use 8-9-10 cells or
2100/15c 3/s lipos.

TeslaWinger
12-17-2005, 03:13 PM