PDA

View Full Version : Altimeter-Altitude recording devices???


donjiskra
04-07-2006, 12:23 PM
Anyone know of an inexpesive altimeter?
Would like to record the highest altitude attained.
Thanks for your reply.
Don

Geoff_Gino
04-07-2006, 12:47 PM
Hi Don

I used a Garmin GPS unit. Any of the Garmin units that has an altimeter function will do it. I used an eTrex Vista, cleared all the tracks and calibrated the altimeter before take off. The downloaded data gives an altitude profile and the 60" trainer was only just visible at 552 meters high.

donjiskra
04-07-2006, 05:12 PM
Hi Goeff,
Nice to hear from South Africa.
Yesterday I phoned Garmin tech support and was informed that their units do not track altititude/elevation but just indicate the current altitude.
Now I will need to verify the model you mentioned, perhaps the person I spoke to did not know that.
Thanks for your swift reply,
Don

Jason T
04-07-2006, 05:35 PM
I use the Soaring Circuits RAM device and works very well.
http://home.epix.net/~rcbrust/ (http://home.epix.net/%7Ercbrust/)

cyclops2
04-08-2006, 12:49 AM
I am sure the Model Rocket guys have a very small and reliabel recording altimeter in their "Birds".:)

Geoff_Gino
04-10-2006, 06:31 AM
Hi Don

The model used was an eTrex Vista. Any of the Garmin models that have electronic sensors (compass and altimeter) can be used. After downloading the track onto the PC the track "properties" has a selection tab for track "profile" which gives a graphic of the altitude.

Surprised by Garmin tech support's reply to you. PM or e-mail me if you need any more.

Geoff_Gino
04-10-2006, 06:36 AM
Hi Don

Picture of my track profile when last flown.

donjiskra
04-11-2006, 12:43 PM
THANKS GEOFF, that certainly proves it does!!!!
Don :)

Geoff_Gino
04-11-2006, 12:52 PM
Hi Don

I'll go out on a limb here and say the Garmin guy has not downloaded tracks to a PC and has never looked at the track profile. All the Garmin units with electronic sensors have an altimeter function. The altitude is not obvious on the download, but is in the track profile. He obviously doesn't know this.

Are you planning on perhaps using one?

Stark Flyer
04-11-2006, 04:51 PM
Check this out. I have one and am pleased with it. Saves a lot of weight compared to a GPS unit.

http://www.hexpertsystems.com/zlog/

Dick

falingtrea
04-11-2006, 07:28 PM
That Zlog is pretty similar to what the model rocket guys use but is designed specifically for model plane use.

FYI the only problem with using a model rocket designed altimeter is that they typicallly design it to sense a rapid change in pressure before starting to track, to weed out false triggers.

donjiskra
04-12-2006, 01:39 AM
Starkflyer,
This looks like what I need, especially since it was designed by a fellow modeler. THANKS!!!!
Don

Geoff_Gino
04-12-2006, 06:33 AM
Check this out. I have one and am pleased with it. Saves a lot of weight compared to a GPS unit.

http://www.hexpertsystems.com/zlog/

Dick

Good one Dick. That looks just exactly right for the application and will certainly not only be lighter, less bulky and less $$$$

Stark Flyer
04-12-2006, 02:26 PM
Glad I could help.

Dick

LannyG
05-19-2006, 09:33 PM
I use one of these. Backpacking stores and REI have them. Very light compared to a GPS. I have it set to record every 10 seconds.

jooNorway
07-30-2006, 10:44 AM
I also use the RAM as Jason T mentioned. Only 7,5 gram and it has memory for 9 hours of flying. Especially nice for measuring height when doing DLG, but I even put it in electric birds to measure the climbing ability on motor-setups! Connect it to the receiver and it will store flights as separate flights when you turn your receiver on again for a new flight.

I also use the Picolario system in my big scalegliders, but this is NOT a cheap system. This gives me altitude, climb, sink, battery voltage and attention-warnings if glitching occurs right on an earpiece from a receiver in my belt... It also have TEK (Total Energy Kompensation) probes.
http://www.picolario-usa.com/Startseite.htm

MikeD096
10-11-2006, 03:52 PM
This is an old thread, but thought I'd add another option...

I personally don't have one, or used one, but I have one on order. I can post my experience with it if someone asks.

Its a peak altimeter (only records the highest point) and is AGL (Above Ground Level), not true altitude.

http://rcreporter.com/products.html

oracle_9
10-13-2006, 04:43 AM
How High? For $40 US, definitely yes!

I have one and use it constently in discus launch gliders, and once summer rolls around in larger sailplanes too.

I also simply wanted to only know how high and not bother with other data. Also I wanted it instant, not hook it up onto a laptop or something.
Although you read the high in flashes from a LED, like 854 feet is 8 flash-5 flash-4 flash. But for the purpose of this unit and the cost is it well worth it. And I like it alot.

Slow Go
10-14-2006, 04:15 AM
This isn't for printouts, however, It is easy to use. I have one each on my Condor Magic and my Super Dimona. www.wingedshadow.com/ (http://www.wingedshadow.com/)
To date my highest is 2,230 ft.

vrecer
11-14-2006, 01:45 PM
Look at this altimeter: www.lxnavigation.si/rc (http://www.lxnavigation.si/rc)
Shipping for USA is 6 euro. Price without invoice is 80 euro and with invoice 83 euro VAT not included.

Have a nice day.

Andrej

autorail1
02-19-2008, 06:03 PM
How do you have it set up? With the LED facing outside the fusleage. I am wondering if this will work on the Slow Stick.
This isn't for printouts, however, It is easy to use. I have one each on my Condor Magic and my Super Dimona. www.wingedshadow.com/ (http://www.wingedshadow.com/)
To date my highest is 2,230 ft.

mred
05-03-2008, 11:51 PM
Eagle Tree has an altimeter expander for their system that tracks and will log just about anything you want and you can print it out on your computer.
Ed

donjiskra
05-04-2008, 01:14 PM
Hi Ed,
I investigated the Eagle Tree system: http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Plane/plane.html and was amazed at their comprehensive monitoring systems. If someone is really serious about monitoring flight performance they should check them out. A great product line !!!!

I use "How High" and "See How" from Winged Shadow, http://wingedshadow.com/ , because they fit my budget and work great. Unfortunately no computer interface available.

For precision data documentaion the Eagle Tree system is a winner, if the budget allows.
Don

mred
05-04-2008, 03:21 PM
I don't have the Eagle Tree system yet, but I know someone that does and he is always putting charts on the web for us to see. He has got me hooked and I am saving up for one now. I may not be able to get everything I want, but I can save up and get some of it. Take care.
Ed

Hodgehound
05-18-2008, 08:54 PM
My Gentle Lady is not electric but a buddy let me use his Z Log yesterday. It was a cloudless sky and a lil breezy but my estimate of 2000' was pretty close. The GL has a Wasp .061 on it and a 1 oz. fuel tank. It did not run out of fuel, I cut it off for fear of loosing it in the plain blue background. Needless to say, after using the Z-Log once, I'm gonna have to get one!!! :D

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?p=9780465#post9780465

billpa
06-07-2008, 05:28 AM
Hi All,

We have just announced a new dual mode altimeter. It functions standalone and/or logging (when connected to our elogger). Best of all, it's only $37.99 complete. ::o

Here's some info:

http://eagletreesystems.com/Standalone/standalone.htm

Regards,

Bill, for Eagle Tree

Hodgehound
06-07-2008, 05:07 PM
Pretty Cool

mred
06-07-2008, 10:50 PM
Now that looks great. Just what I have been looking for. I do wish you guys would quite coming out with all this neat stuff. You keep me broke all the time. Gotta get this one.
Ed

Nitro Blast
08-23-2012, 04:38 AM
Holy Thread Ressurection!

I have really liked my Jolly Logic I just wish it did logging.

http://www.jollylogic.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/AltimeterTwo.png
http://www.jollylogic.com/products/altimetertwo/

Stevephoon
03-09-2013, 01:56 AM
Waking up an old thread as well...

What is everyone using for both altimeter recording and ALES contest timers / altitude limiters??

Are most using the Soaring Ciruits CAM for ALES?
http://soaringcircuits.com/

Is the RAM from Soaring Circuits a nice logger as well??

What about the Sky Limit ?? Has anyone used this or any other of the Winged Shadow devices?

http://www.wingedshadow.com/skylimit.html

Magellan Technologoies has some devices as well. Any experience with them??

http://www.magtechinc.net/

HobbyKing has some stuff as well:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__28495__Hobbyking_Altitude_Time_Limiting_System_f or_R_C_Airplane.html

My ideal device does not exist as far as I can tell... A altimeter/GPS Logger that includes the ALES Altimeter/Timer function as well... that costs under $50....

My TX is an old DX7, so I do not have built in telemetry either...

Thanks,
Steve

Leadchucker
03-09-2013, 06:04 AM
Waking up an old thread as well...


Are most using the Soaring Ciruits CAM for ALES?
Is the RAM from Soaring Circuits a nice logger as well??

_

I use both items from Randy and Lauren. Super nice people and their stuff works great. Pic is of the RAM graph made with Randy's software

mred
03-10-2013, 12:40 AM
I bought my Eagle Tree logger and altitude sensor among other things and couldn't be happier. I can log altitude from ground level, not true altitude, but if you know the ground altitude then it is easy to get actual altitude simply by adding that to what was recorded. At the end of each flight, you can still read the max altitude from the sensor and it will give you a readout on the digital display. You can chart it later from the logger if you wish, or just fly with the altitude sensor installed for an instant readout of altitude at the end of each flight. What's really super is the charts that you can print out if you want to chart the flight over time. Just about anything can be logged if you have the proper sensor for it. I really like that feature because you don't have to buy things you are not interested in, yet has that ability if you do need it.

Just as an added feature, you can buy a flat panel display and have what amounts to a power meter with you at all times. By with you, I mean on board the plane and will display peak units recorded or you can run it on the ground if you change something and need to check to see if you are still in specks with the motor you are using. The chart display will also give you peak reading on the bottom and ave of the readings. The chart value alone is worth every penny, but you don't have to chart this, you can get a dial readout of the entire flight and can start and stop it at will.

While the logger is the most expensive part of my system so far, I would not have it any other way. If you are just interested in recording the peak altitude, the altitude sensor will give you just the peak as a free standing sensor, or hook it up to the logger and record the entire flight. I know there are other systems on the market, but I think this one is the best. For what it will do, I don't think it can be beat. Equaled maybe, but not beaten.

This is a chart of my 2M Chrysalis and the max altitude on the 5th climb was 2208ft. That is about the max that I can still see this glider and this is almost straight overhead. If you add in much slant range, you will not see it for long. This is 6 climbs, so 6 flights, but without a landing in between. I can do more since I have a 2200MAh battery on board, but I normally quite after 6 and change out the battery. These 6 climbs used up about half of the battery, so there is still planty left even after climbing 6 times.

Ed

Larry3215
03-10-2013, 05:42 AM
The SkyLimit and the CAM are both excellent devices. I have both.

The CAM is slightly cheaper and you can get group discounts on top of that for a club order. I think the minimum is 10 pieces.

The CAM is also pretty much plug-n-play - it comes pre-programmed for the standard 30 seconds/200 meters cut-off.

The SkyLimit has a separate programmer/readout module that you pretty much have to have. When you order both, it puts it a bit more $$ than the CAM. However, if you always fly with the same people, you can share a programmer. I would not want to do that however.

The SkyLimit does a lot more than simple time/altitude cutoff. It also records the highest altitude and launch height.

However, it is NOT a logging altimeter. It only records the highest point for readout with the programmer after a flight. It does not save the data and there is no graphing. When you power up again, the old data is lost. Its great for checking launch heights and its also nice to see your highest altitude reached during that flight.

In addition, it can be programmed to limit the zoom after power off. If you have one, the contest CD can also use it to check to see if you are zooming too far and going beyond the 10% max allowed. Its also possible a contest CD might have one on hand and ask you to fly with it onboard to check your zoom altitude.

There are a few other programming features as well. The cutoff time and altitude are fully programmable in 1 second increments and 1 foot increments. It can also use meters if you prefer.

All of this programming flexibility comes at the expense of complexity - you need to learn how to program it. I found the programmer wasn't all that hard to learn but it was not intuitive. You will want to keep the manual handy for a while at least :)

So, in short - CAM is easy and cheaper, but the SkyLimit does more stuff and is harder to use.

If you think you will use the features of the SkyLimit, its worth the small extra expense. If not, stick with the CAM.

azdiane
05-05-2013, 04:11 AM
I'm using the Winged Shadow "How High" and am pleased with it. It's tiny, light, portable, and supposedly accurate to the foot. It records just maximum altitude, but that works for me.
Diane

AEAJR
05-21-2013, 05:19 AM
How High
http://www.wingedshadow.com/howhigh.html

Stevephoon
05-21-2013, 05:19 PM
Thanks for all of the input all... (I know I'm late...) I needed a few things from HobbyKing so I added their altitude limiter to cart about a week ago.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__28495__Hobbyking_Altitude_Time_Limiting_System_f or_R_C_Airplane.html

It's just been shipped, so it will still be a while before I receive it. I'll post some impressions when I get it, but from what I have read about it, it works, but it does not have the most intuitive programming scheme.

The part I want to use most is the logging feature. Just to track altitude and time of flights. Hopefully that will work!

Steve

Josephr85
05-27-2013, 06:23 PM
Hi all,

there is also AerobTec Altis v4 unit which is both recording and competition altimeter in one. It has also integrated OLED display and telemetry output (for now just JETI and Multiplex, but others are just matter of time and firmware change).

Joseph.

Josephr85
05-27-2013, 06:24 PM
Hi all,

there is also AerobTec Altis v4 unit which is both recording and competition altimeter in one. It has also integrated OLED display and telemetry output (for now just JETI and Multiplex, but others are just matter of time and firmware change).

Joseph.

More information here :
http://www.facebook.com/AerobTec
http://www.aerobtec.com/products/rc-electronics/altis-v4/

Josephr85
06-25-2013, 06:44 PM
Hi all,

There is chance to win new Altis v4, so if you like it and if you want it just join to new contest AerobTec prepares for all of you.

http://www.facebook.com/AerobTec

Regards,
Joseph