PDA

View Full Version : Help installing a safety Switch


FlyingBrick50
12-01-2010, 10:15 AM
I need some help, I am in the process of installing a switch for safety ie prop safety.

I thought the main battery feed (to the esc) then i got to thinkin (oh no he's thinking again) those wires are pulling alot of amps, maybe it could be installed on the bec side?
What I would like to do is have the system come up when batt is plugged in and the motor require activation by manual switch? Where would be the best place, Hot/Ground/signal wire to the ESC?
any thoughts?
Never mind found a link that told me what I needed,
THANKS to ALL

hillbille
12-02-2010, 12:59 AM
Simple solution.

I will use a Deans Ultra Connector as the connectors of choice here. All that is necessary to do what you want is to wire the UBEC to the male plug that the battery(s) will plug into. On the negative lead from that plug simply install ANYWHERE at any convenient place another plug leading from the battery side to the ESC. Now make yourself a counterpart plug that has a bar across the two leads - dead short - and it will serve as your "MOTOR" activation switch when plugged in.

When a battery is plugged in initially - without the "switch" plug in place - the UBEC is activated and all servo functions will work but there is no "power" to the ESC for the motor. When the "switch" plug is inserted - you have power!

Hope this helps!

Hillbille

FlyingBrick50
12-02-2010, 01:03 PM
Thanks for the assist, my bec is built in to the esc?

hillbille
12-03-2010, 08:57 AM
In order to do what you "want" to do you will need to bypass the integral BEC of the ESC and use a UBEC. Other options include getting a completely different ESC that has a built in switch. With an internal bec there is no way to isolate one from the other as you have indicated you would like to do.


Hillbille

FlyingBrick50
12-03-2010, 10:41 AM
Thanks alot I was hoping for a differant answer! I do understand and thanks for the help,.....broke a prop and pulled a wire loose in the motor with an ground encursion, not happy with myself, knew better and still did it. Well, live and learn.
Thanks again

FlyingBrick50
12-15-2010, 05:04 AM
:ws:Heres one thing I've found works really well for me. Wrap a rubber band from the ant. around the controler and finish by hooking it to your throttle so as to keep it at 0% and as far as switches go they are availible (for larger aircraft which can carry the weight).
Just thought I'd put my two cents in,.....
I'm using them on a Fairchild 22
http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3125353 (http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3125353)

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=3125353 (http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3125353)