PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply???

dcfreefall
08-18-2005, 03:09 PM
Hello,

I am new to all of this and appreciate all the discusions about the chargers. Now I have a question about what is the best way to power the chargers. I have seen 6 amp and 8 amp chargers, AC/DC power supplies, what direction should I go? I am looking for something that I can use at home or on the field. Please Help.:confused:

debhicks
08-18-2005, 03:33 PM
Get you a jump battery. Modify it with some quick disconnects and you can use that at the house or at the field. Jump batteries come with their own chargers. You should have to charge is twice a year maybe. We have been using an 800 cranking amp for about 5 years and 1000 cranking amp for about 3 years. Good investment and have come down quite a bit in price.

If you don't want to use up your jump battery at the house then get a power supply for the house. Pyramid makes a nice one with a good warranty for $39.99 or you could try to find one factory reconditioned. Same warranty.

Hope that helps. You can look at the power supply on our website.

rcers
08-18-2005, 03:35 PM
There are many 12v power supplies out there. Go to ebay and look, you can usually get pretty good ones for $30 or so bucks.

You can also convert an old PC power supply for cheap. These supplies are readily available and cheap - even when new.

Details here:
http://www.rcbatteryclinic.com/

Mike

dcfreefall
08-18-2005, 04:09 PM
Excuse my ignorance. What is a Jump battery? Where do I get one?

Dave

debhicks
08-18-2005, 04:11 PM
Oh sorry about that. You can get them at lowes, walmart or an autoparts store. They are a spare battery you can carry in the truck to jump start your car.

Some even have a radio built into them for emergeny uses.

dcfreefall
08-18-2005, 04:22 PM
Thank you, and again ignore my ignorance. What are the quick disconnects? Where can I get those?

dave

debhicks
08-18-2005, 04:26 PM