PDA

View Full Version : Motor Problem

shaf
12-23-2010, 01:34 AM
I am new to electric flying so I'm not sure what is going on. I have a fairly new E-flite #15 840kV motor that has given me problems. As I advanced the power the rpm would come up and then fall off and hold at about 40%. Thought it might be the speed control but swapping that out brought no relief. Then swapped the motor and all seems to be well. The motor is in an E-flite Apprentice using a 3S 3200ma battery. The motor only had about a dozen flites on it. Any thoughts?

Shaf

rcers
12-23-2010, 01:47 AM
About 95% of the time it is the battery unable to provide the juice. So what size prop do you have on that?

And as you get into electric - the Watt meter is your most valuable tool, it tells you what is going on! It is hard to guess, and the meter shows you watts/amps and in this case importantly voltage. You can tell a tired battery as it won't hold voltage under load.

So did swapping the motor solve the issue? Sorry just re-read your post.

Mike

shaf
12-23-2010, 02:01 AM
Motor seems to have solve problem. Tried two different fully charged batteries. Problem developed progressively over the past two or three sessions/days.

CHELLIE
12-23-2010, 02:52 AM
Motor seems to have solve problem. Tried two different fully charged batteries. Problem developed progressively over the past two or three sessions/days.

The problem could be a bad motor or you could have cleaned up the esc to motor connection when you swaped the motor, check the esc and motor connection to make sure its clean and tight, if it ok then check the problem motor with a Volt / ohm meter, there are threads on watflyer on how to test a brushless motor, Hope that helps, Chellie

foamjetpilot
12-23-2010, 04:28 AM