PDA

View Full Version : Life and Death of the Cessna

clenaghen
04-13-2006, 12:02 AM
Not sure why I would share these pics, as they are more frustrating and embarassing than anything. But, figured some of you might get some sort of morbid enjoyment out of them.

First, the disclaimer: I am fairly new to this hobby, and dont have a lot of airtime with planes. I do own quite a few now, and have had my ups and downs with all of them... mostly ups. But NO ONE PLANE have I had more problems with than the Art-Tech Cessna 182.

For whatever reason, this plane refuses to want to behave. I have had a couple times when it has flied incredibly well. Other times, (most other times) you would think it had a mind of its own (and probably did... more to come on that). Some of the problems can be chalked up to my inexperience, some of it to other factors. The first time I flew this plane, I did a ROG on a parking lot. I gave it full throttle and it seemed like it took forever for the plane to lift off the ground. Once it did, it then proceeded to tip stall. I recovered, just enough for it to roll over and try to nose first into the parking lot. Straightened it out, and it tried to stall again. I gave up at that point and put it into a tree ( on purpose). That wasnt the last of the "fun".

Anyways, here are a few pics of my not-so-beloved plane.

http://www.lenaghen.com/cessna4.jpg
For referrence, this is what my plane is SUPPOSED to look like (no, this is not a pic of me flying my actual plane... that didnt really happen much)

http://www.lenaghen.com/cessna1.jpg
This pic was the result of the plane suddenly deciding to flip over and do an inverted loop into the ground. This was on my second flight of this plane. It was flying fine, then decided on its own it wanted down. This, after the fact, was my unknowing introduction into glitchy receivers.

http://www.lenaghen.com/cessna2.jpg