PDA

View Full Version : P-38 from scratch ??

smaug
04-13-2006, 07:04 AM
Hello, my first post I would like to say hello to everyone. I am new to RC but I like a challange so I would like to start off with a foam p-38 with a wing span of 18 to 20 inches. I have the makings of a hotwire cutter that will cut a 30 inch span. I have several pieces of styrofoam sheets that are 24x48x2. I am looking for info on the techniques of working with foam. Any sugestions?? Will just carving it out of soild foam make it to heavy? Should I hollow it out, does it need skin? ect....

Thanks
Richard

Don Sims
04-13-2006, 11:12 AM
Hey Richard, welcome to WF!

firemanbill
04-13-2006, 12:03 PM
Hey Richard, Welcome!!! The P-38 is one of mine and my sons favorite planes. We took him to Middlesboro Ky last year to the Lost Squadron museum to see the Glacier Girl P-38, It was really cool.

When I get a little better at flying we are going to build one as well.

Good luck on your build. Post Pics:)

Bill G
04-17-2006, 04:59 AM
How about an FW-189? Not exactly a P-38, but same basic twin boom structure. Its a German WWII observation plane.
One way to scratch build planes if to use a conglomeration of available foam parts, and some scratch building. All that considering that the purchase parts are often heavily reworked.
I just ordered a GWS replacement wing for a C-47 Skytrain (DC-3). The wing's almost identical. I also ordered the tail feathers for a GWS A-10. A bit of reshaping will be done to the rudders. The boom frames are made from cardboard rocket tubes, slit in half. They are glued back together, with formers inside. No pics yet, since they look like hell, until they are balsa sheeted, sanded, and shaped a bit. The center pilot compartment will be cobbled together from GWS ME109 canopies, maybe some hand formed clear plastic, and whatever.
Just some bizzare scratch building ideas. I sent a note expaining the parts use when I orderer the parts, so they didn't think I'm nuts. (Still may)