PDA

View Full Version : B E C Question


Red Chevy 999
04-22-2006, 02:02 PM
BEC or no BEC? If I have a ESC with "no BEC" does that mean that I need to use a Flight pack battery to power the reciever and servos ? I will be using a NIMH battery with 20 cells and running 4 servos (rudder, elevator and 2 on ailerons) I am looking at the Jeti 77 amp ESC. The more I read the more confused I get, must be that OLD AGE thing!

e power
04-22-2006, 02:23 PM
Hello mate,
you are correct if your esc has no bec then you will need to use a reciever nicad,or if you want to save a wee bit of weight you can try an add on bec,the ubec from jeti works fine as do most of them,but beware some are not compatible with all esc,s and can cause range problems if in doubt check ,best of luck with your e project .Euan Galloway UK

Twmaster
04-22-2006, 02:32 PM
Yes you will need to add a battery or BEC device. A lot of ESCs for big cell counts do not have BEC. If your plane is that big to need that kinda power a small RX battery pack won't add that much weight.

Red Chevy 999
04-22-2006, 05:12 PM
Thank you both for the info ..you really cleared up several questions. Thanks again, John.

lennyshotgun
04-22-2006, 06:10 PM
Heres a bec for 20 bucks - have a cople and they work fine.
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/ParkBEC.htm
Lenny