PDA

View Full Version : EasyStar rudder

adhoc
05-09-2006, 11:44 PM
Okay, I've added some surface to my rudder (two cut down business cards CA'd together); seems to work okay, although my test flight this morning was in some wind so I was more focused on preventing a crash than evaluating rudder response... {grin} (I'm a beginner, this was only my 4th flight)...

The thing is, the rudder is just not very flexible; the foam hinge is still very stiff, and it doesn't return to neutral when I center the stick. Should I go ahead and cut the rudder off, and then reattach it with tape or something?

The elevator seems fine.

Thanks for any advice or hints...

qban_flyer
05-10-2006, 12:43 AM
Okay, I've added some surface to my rudder (two cut down business cards CA'd together); seems to work okay, although my test flight this morning was in some wind so I was more focused on preventing a crash than evaluating rudder response... {grin} (I'm a beginner, this was only my 4th flight)...

The thing is, the rudder is just not very flexible; the foam hinge is still very stiff, and it doesn't return to neutral when I center the stick. Should I go ahead and cut the rudder off, and then reattach it with tape or something?

The elevator seems fine.

Thanks for any advice or hints...Sounds like you need to loosen those hinges some. If not then cut the rudder off and re-hinge it using CA hinges and foam friendly CA. The rudder should be just as free as the elevator or you may risk stripping the gears on that servo. :eek:

Heard somewhere that the material floppy discs are made of works great for this purpose. I have not tried it yet, though I may in the next few days. :)

Deereret
05-12-2006, 08:27 PM