PDA

View Full Version : Destroyed on Maiden

Ribcracker
06-09-2006, 02:52 AM
I spent the dark hours of this past winter meticulously assembling the Stevens Aeromodel Cap 232. I really took my time to make sure everything was perfect. As a matter of fact, all told, I'll bet I put close to a hundred hours into it. I'm a slow builder. I guess it just doesn't come natural to me. I enjoyed it in spite of a few screw-ups that I had to undo. I know Stevens kits have a good rep but the intructions are definitely not idiot proof. I proved that. And I don't like the fact that you have to take the wing off to access the battery. But damn is she beautiful.
Rather than use the recommended Hacker A20-20L, I used a cheaper Ultrafly Frio with similar kv and watt input. A 9x5 prop was recommended but I put on a 9x6 cuz that's what I had.
It was calm last night when I tightened the last screw. So I walked out into the yard and set it on the grass. I took a deep breath and advanced the throttle. I figured it would leap after 2 or 3 feet but it rolled out about 10 and nosed over. So it's going to be a hand launch. I don't like to do that with bottom wing planes because you have to grab it behind the wing and that makes it want to pitch downward. So I threw it toward the sky and cracked the throttle. It torqued left toward the tree line 20 feet to my left and I had to make a split second decision whether to turn it back toward me or try to clear the trees. I made the wrong choice. Debris rained down from the tree like confetti. I'd say she was airborne about two seconds. One hundred hours of work. Two seconds.
I never even got a chance to get a picture of it.
This is the downside of this hobby. Your hopes well up with anticipation till you can't catch your breath. And then comes the joy...or the agony.
I'm still in shock, I think. I guess I've just made myself numb.
It helps to get this off my chest. But not enough.
Maybe tomorrow I'll start a new build.

Don Sims
06-09-2006, 02:57 AM