PDA

View Full Version : Twin Star II


n001pa
06-11-2006, 10:11 AM
I am almost ready to fly my Twin Star II. I started this model almost 6 months ago but it got put on the back burner when I picked up a '69 F-250 that I'm restoring. I am having some problems with the Spectrum radio system for it. I have started a thread to try to find out what's wrong here. http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=79133#post79133

I had some questions about the plane as well. Would there be any problem with soldering the wires from the motors together and attaching them directly to the esc? I was thinking about doing that and also using a Y-harness for the ailerons so that I can get rid of the plate that all the wires go to before the reciever. There is just so many wires in there that I am having a heck of a time getting everything in there.

The color scheme is for a virtual airline that me and my brother have been working on for flight sim. The virtual paint jobs that I have come up with can be seen here (http://members.cox.net/n001pa/Meadowlark.html).

Don't mind the mess, my work table got kind of trashed over the last six months. Mostly because of the truck. That's it's seat setting there waiting for some new upholstery.


http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_DSCF1048.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/DSCF1048.jpg) http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_DSCF1053.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/DSCF1053.jpg) http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_DSCF1051.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/DSCF1051.jpg)
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_DSCF1050.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/DSCF1050.jpg) http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_DSCF1055.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/DSCF1055.jpg)

adhoc
06-13-2006, 07:58 PM
Beautiful paint, very nice!

I left a detailed post on that other thread, but briefly... Yes, you can skip the little circuit board, there's nothing magical about it. I think Multiplex's intention was to make it easier to disconnect and reconnect the wings. But in the end it is somewhat awkward working with that circuit board, and they didn't give us long enough motor cables.

Organizing all the electronics is sort of a pain on this plane. There seems like a lot of space in there, but it is deep and not very wide, and it is especially hard to get at the space between the front and rear openings. After I maidened mine, I spent a good two hours carefully mounting everything, separating wires, etc.

For me, the Twin Star II wingspan isn't that big, so once I got everything put together well, I've been reluctant to take the wings back off again. But then, I am currently fortunate enough to live across the street from the park I fly at, so I haven't had to put the TS2 in my car yet. My days doing this are numbered... {grin}

ragbag
06-22-2006, 03:42 PM
Mine is still in the box.


Keep looking at it, want to put landing ear on it and can't get it straight in my head.

Any thoughts?:)



.

Eric_N57105
06-22-2006, 06:08 PM
Mine is still in the box.


Keep looking at it, want to put landing ear on it and can't get it straight in my head.

Any thoughts?:)



.
It sure would look good set up as a DH Twin Otter. Hmmm...wonder if Hobby People down the street have one in stock...

Eric
KE6US

adhoc
06-22-2006, 06:36 PM
It sure would look good set up as a DH Twin Otter. Yeah, you could get it close, sort of. The TS2 wings are bigger (in both dimensions, I think), fuse is somewhat bigger, nose shaped a little different (maybe wider), and the horizontal stabilizer is lower, but otherwise it is in the ballpark...

I can't see any reason you couldn't put gear on it. Personally I'm happy belly landing mine... {smile}

ragbag
06-23-2006, 02:05 AM
Yeah, you could get it close, sort of. The TS2 wings are bigger (in both dimensions, I think), fuse is somewhat bigger, nose shaped a little different (maybe wider), and the horizontal stabilizer is lower, but otherwise it is in the ballpark...

I can't see any reason you couldn't put gear on it. Personally I'm happy belly landing mine... {smile}


I am using the Twin as a base for some other twins that I am going to set up and using this as a power test base.:)


.

n001pa
06-23-2006, 09:55 PM
I was thinking about trying a float plane with mine. I'm not sure what size floats yet but I know it would be possible.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_TwinOtter1.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter1.jpg) http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_TwinOtter4.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter4.jpg)
[/URL]
[URL="http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter1.jpg"] (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter2.jpg)
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_TwinOtter2.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter2.jpg) http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/th_TwinOtter3.jpg (http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f168/n001pa/TwinOtter3.jpg)

Eric_N57105
06-23-2006, 11:43 PM
Here you go.

http://plawner.net/video/videos.html

Check out the second Twin Star II video; he calls it an Aqua Star. I had already sketched out something similar for my Easy Star. He has small tip floats on struts. I was thinking of just gluing on some foam on the wing tips just before they tilt up, and fair them into the wings. I figured this would be tougher and allow the ES to still belly land on terra firma.

Building up a step with foam sheet would be easy, but I hadn't thought of the nose mod he has which would keep it from digging in esp. with any kind of chop on the water.Looks like it might be fiberglassed. It would also be possible to extend a very small steerable water rudder at the very end of the fuselage...haven't worked out linkage yet, but from the Twin Star Video, it doesn't look lke it would be necessary.

I just got permission from the superintendent of our local city park lake to fly electrics there. All takeoffs and landings must be on the water and no overflights of land are allowed. With 38 acres of water, that's going to be easy. A recovery boat is also required as there is no water contact allowed. Now I just need to buy a little wader pool to work out the flotation mods beforehand.

Eric
www.ke6us.com (http://www.ke6us.com)

n001pa
06-24-2006, 01:18 AM
I saw that video before I got mine. I love the way he did it but I have always loved float planes. I may just buy another one to try as a seaplane. But first I have to figure out why mine is not working. I haven't messed with it for a while because I got pretty tired of messing with all the wires.

LannyG
07-11-2006, 05:03 AM
Yeah, you could get it close, sort of. The TS2 wings are bigger (in both dimensions, I think), fuse is somewhat bigger, nose shaped a little different (maybe wider), and the horizontal stabilizer is lower, but otherwise it is in the ballpark...

I can't see any reason you couldn't put gear on it. Personally I'm happy belly landing mine... {smile}
I have started using 3M clear stair tread tape. Man does it work great! The clear looks better than the black or gray and it is not as "grippy". It has fantastic adhesive, is light and has a sort of stiffness that keeps the dents out of the Elapor. I can land very "hot" on the asphalt or rocky dirt and it doesn't even make scratches in the tape. Its great stuff.

Donald Harker
07-11-2006, 05:33 PM
I am awaiting the arrival of my first Twin Star II, I have seen Mike Fox fly one, and was impressed.. Plan to install two outrunners and li po batterys for the power end. Does anyone have suggestions on series or paralell wiring for the motors?

n001pa
07-12-2006, 08:58 PM
Almost everyone out there is setting up a seperate battery and esc for each motor when using brushless. I know it's possible to wire them together and use one battery but I'm not sure how. I'm sure other more qualified flyers will be able to help you out. If you don't get any responses here try posting in the power system thread.

Good luck,
Carl

Virgil Kee
07-16-2006, 06:36 AM
I'm stalled on setting up a TwinStar II trying to figure out a suitable Li-Po batt. The Tower Hobbies Tech Notes state that the AUW is 56 oz (3.3 lbs!). Is this with a Ni-MH batt pack?

I'm taking the hint about posting on the Batteries and Chargers forum. See you there?

Virg.

ragbag
07-16-2006, 12:40 PM
Yeah, you could get it close, sort of. The TS2 wings are bigger (in both dimensions, I think), fuse is somewhat bigger, nose shaped a little different (maybe wider), and the horizontal stabilizer is lower, but otherwise it is in the ballpark...

I can't see any reason you couldn't put gear on it. Personally I'm happy belly landing mine... {smile}


Hard to do touch and goes without landing gear, not impossible, just harder.:rolleyes:


.

LannyG
08-25-2006, 07:56 PM
I'm stalled on setting up a TwinStar II trying to figure out a suitable Li-Po batt. The Tower Hobbies Tech Notes state that the AUW is 56 oz (3.3 lbs!). Is this with a Ni-MH batt pack?

I'm taking the hint about posting on the Batteries and Chargers forum. See you there?

Virg.
Mine is 3lbs with a 7cell 2000ma nimh. Its about 10oz heavier than that with the 8 cell 3300 nimh. Many people seem to like the 3000 or 3300 but I like it with the 2000. Flies great. Lipo and brushless makes for big excitement but I ain't got da dough. I'm happy.
With that 3m clear stair tread tape on the bottom it does touch and goes with no trouble or wear. Use clear. Its got less "tread" and skids along better. Its stiffer than packing tape and doesn't get dented.
LannyG

PeterO
09-01-2006, 07:45 PM
Almost everyone out there is setting up a seperate battery and esc for each motor when using brushless. I decided against that untill I got a feel for how long it would fly on a single battery. While using two ESCs means the low voltage cut can occure on one ESC first, atleast with only one battery there is no possibility on of one battery going flat before the other ! I'm getting more than enough flight time from a single battery not to be worrying about swapping to two batteries.I know it's possible to wire them together and use one battery but I'm not sure how. I'm sure other more qualified flyers will be able to help you out. If you don't get any responses here try posting in the power system thread.
Good luck,Carl Just wire the two ESCs to the battery and use a Y-lead to the receiver. The issue then is if both ESCs have a BEC. Some maunf. say you can run with both BECs connected.
Peter

PeterO
09-01-2006, 07:47 PM
I am awaiting the arrival of my first Twin Star II, I have seen Mike Fox fly one, and was impressed.. Plan to install two outrunners and li po batterys for the power end. Does anyone have suggestions on series or paralell wiring for the motors?
Can I ask if you sorted this out yet ? If not I can tell you my expereince.
Peter

Donald Harker
09-06-2006, 03:53 PM
I have not go it fully sorted yet. I am intending to use one battery and one speed control for both motors. That would eliminate the issue of one motor stopping before the other due to battery exhaustion, one speed control would eliminate the confusion over two BECs, and insure the same voltage and start points for both motors. The motors would have to be wired parallel to each other, using a Y adapter off the speed control. I will let you know how this works out.

PeterO
09-07-2006, 02:24 PM
I have not go it fully sorted yet. I am intending to use one battery and one speed control for both motors. If you want to try that, find someone that has got it working already because it seems that only a few combinations of motor types and ESCs will work. In general you need two ESCs for two brushless motors. That would eliminate the issue of one motor stopping before the other due to battery exhaustion, The advice I've been given is that if you run your lipos to the point that LVC cuts in then you are probably over discharging them. Most advice seems to be to only discharge to 85-90% capacity. one speed control would eliminate the confusion over two BECs Again some BECs are OK to wire in parallel. I run my two GWS ESCs into a Y cable and I've not had any problems so far. , and insure the same voltage and start points for both motors. In my experience this doesn't matter. If you've stopped the motors in the air (for a glide approach for example) when you start them up again (for the overshoot) you pass through the point where one has started before the other so quickly that it makes no difference. It's less than "one click" on the throttle stick. The motors would have to be wired parallel to each other, As I said above this may work if you are lucky. using a Y adapter off the speed control. I will let you know how this works out. With two ESC's on separate channels there is always the possibility of practicing the loss of one engine or applying differential throttle to help with taxying.
Peter.

Calcomputers
12-17-2006, 11:01 PM
I just had the maiden flight of my TW II. I have the CG set as the instructions say, but it sure seemed hard to handle. I noticed that the two motors have the usual offset toward the right, but I don't see any down offset of the motors. In fact, it looks like maybe a little up. Has anyone else noticed this. It is a fully stock setup. Thanks

Sparky Paul
12-18-2006, 12:17 AM
... With two ESC's on separate channels there is always the possibility of practicing the loss of one engine or applying differential throttle to help with taxying.
Peter.
.
I set up my twins specifically to test this.. works fine..
One motor in channel 3, the other on channel 6, which has a knob control, slaved to channel 3. I can cut either motor in flight, with the other running.
This was to check rudder authority.. with more than 40% power on one motor, with the other off, the rudder couldn't turn into the running motor.