PDA

View Full Version : Bit off more than I can chew

silky666
06-13-2006, 10:22 PM
Ok - I guess I am liable to get slated for this-- but I went and bought a Walkera 36 for my first heli.
Anyway - ran it straight out of the box and rapidly realised that the battery was awful (3 min flight time) and the motor was not powerfull enough.
so! I went and ordered a brushless motor + speed controller , and a big battery.
Now then - here is the problem.. I have no idea what I am doing with setting this all up.
ie:
1) the speed controller needs to connect to the reciver - but this has now meant that I do not have the giro connected. .. is this right ?
2) should the battery be slung below the engine - or at the front ?

I am kind of hoping someone has also done the upgrade like me and can post instructions / images of what they have done?

Fingers crossed , and have some sympathy for a total newbie :-)

Cheers, Silky

darkside212
06-28-2006, 04:15 AM
Hey Silky,
at least you know what you did: bit off more than you can chew :D

do you have any rc experience?
if so do you have any equipment? perhaps a transmitter?
If you have a transmitter: does it have helicopter functions?

The problem with the walkera helicopters is there electronics. I've owned the 35 and the 22E and both are excellent airframes. I used my own transmitter, receiver, servos, gyros, and ESCs in both helis.

If you don't have one a computer radio will make a world of difference. Futaba makes the 6exh which is a decent basic radio available for under $200 (US)

A decent radio is your best investment....helis come and go but a tx is there forever :p

Jason
07-04-2006, 03:49 AM
Hi Silky,