PDA

View Full Version : Question Castle Link Live


bob_nj
02-16-2016, 07:22 AM
Anyone using Castle Link Live?

If so, I'm a little confused as to which controllers it works with?

Thanks
Bob

Wildflyer
02-16-2016, 04:55 PM
I would call the Castle support team and get it straight from them, they are very nice and helped me through something a few years ago.

The live link seems to be step one for telemetry, while the Serial link seems to be both step one and two, but I don't get the impression that they are a full telemetry system. Castle has some ECS's (at least they did) that have data logging built in, I have one of those, it is very cool.

I would like a system that could send all info down to a receiver plugged into my laptop, which would then record it.
It probably exists, but I haven't seen a clearly understandable kit of stuff to do it.

bob_nj
02-17-2016, 08:01 AM
Thanks for the reply.
I was hoping to talk to them at the WRAM show, but I'll be travelling for work.

As far as recording your telemetry, I use the Taranis radio and it does all that you
want to do and more for around $189.

Check it out.

Thanks
Bob

bob_nj
02-17-2016, 09:28 AM
While I'm thinking about it,
I was installing Castle Link on a new computer and I somehow checked the box
to open .csv files with the Castle software and now I can't figure out how to change it
back to Excel.

The files won't open now and it's frustrating.

Windows 7

Thanks for any help
Bob

Wildflyer
02-18-2016, 04:26 AM
I am going to buy a Taranis when I can but I may have to sell something or catch a small job. It's tough living on a fixed income that is a LOT lower than when I was a union carpenter in the Puget Sound area at over $36.00 an hour.
3 times I have came very close to buying a Taranis transmitter, the closest being less than 3 weeks ago, I was looking at one that had been the display unit for a local supplier, when the guy standing beside me said "I just bought that".
I missed it by 5 minutes. It was the first model for $100.00, but I really wanted the plus version anyway. I will buy the whole kit when I do.

I have several friends that have them.

I want to be able to hook up telemetry to my laptop, and record the entire telemetry for the whole flight, so that I can study it later. I can get an Altis GPS, but it wouldn't record motor data for power planes.

As for the PC.

Go to -------- start
then --------- control panel
then --------- folder options
then --------- file types
find .csv in the list on left side
You should then be able to change the association to Microsoft Excel

Good luck

bob_nj
02-18-2016, 08:27 AM
Thanks for the reply.
I did that and for some reason Excel isn't listed there :concern:

Wildflyer
02-18-2016, 05:14 PM
I'll try to figure that out on my windows PC

Okay, like an idiot I left off the last steps.

When you find ---- .CSV on left side, left click on it.
That brings up;----- Details for .CSV extension, with a box below.
There is a change button.
When I click on that, it brings up a separate box to the right, called;----
Open with. choose the program you want to use to open this file.
You should see a list of your installed programs.
You should find Excel in the list.
click on it, and the OK button

That should do it

bob_nj
02-19-2016, 10:09 PM
Did that too.
Choices are;
Castle Link
Microsoft Application Virtualization DDE Launcher
OpenOffice Calc

When I use OpenOfficeCalc it opens, but not like Excel used to.

Thanks
Bob