PDA

View Full Version : Ultrafly P-51 question or two

Rug
06-23-2006, 04:06 PM
I haven't seen a lot of posts on this plane here, perhaps it's the way I've been searching. It's a really nice model, at least in the box. It features retracts (included) and flaps.

http://www.ultrafly-model.com/airplanes/ufla1010.html

I got the one that included the FRIO motor and a 9x7 prop. While reading through the manual, it mentions this, as an addendum, as being an extreme combination. I'm guessing the FRIO has just enough "oomph" to deal with a 9x7 prop.

One of the first steps is to glue in the firewall. The issue is that there a couple different firewall positions. One for the FRIO, and one for a larger motor. So, this is sort of a permanent step, and I'm wondering what other people are running here for this plane.

I'm relatively new to the whole electric plane thing. I've been flying my Begin-Air for a couple of months now and always wanted a P-51. This plane, in my eyes, is perfect. I've also raced RC cars for a few years, so electric seemed like a natural step. So, I'm not a complete noob, but I'm not clear on the whole motor/prop combo thing.

Thanks!

Old Fart
06-23-2006, 05:20 PM
I haven't seen a lot of posts on this plane here, perhaps it's the way I've been searching. It's a really nice model, at least in the box. It features retracts (included) and flaps.

http://www.ultrafly-model.com/airplanes/ufla1010.html

I got the one that included the FRIO motor and a 9x7 prop. While reading through the manual, it mentions this, as an addendum, as being an extreme combination. I'm guessing the FRIO has just enough "oomph" to deal with a 9x7 prop.

One of the first steps is to glue in the firewall. The issue is that there a couple different firewall positions. One for the FRIO, and one for a larger motor. So, this is sort of a permanent step, and I'm wondering what other people are running here for this plane.