PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Needs Advice

Grasshopper
07-12-2006, 10:23 PM
Hello to all you Shutter Bugs,

I'm not new to RC but I am new to using it for pictures. I would like to build a plane (ARF or kit) to take still pictures and video. I would like to put it on my Spektrum DX6 with the rest of my planes. Right now all I have is a PZ J3 Cub and the rest are warbirds. I don't think my P-47 with a Park 450 will be a good photo platform though.

I am not new to photography and have been in digital for several years now. Photography is my other expensive hobby and it would be great to combine the two to make one big money pit. I would be buying a new camera since I don't want to send my Canon 20D SLR up in the air, nor do I want to pay for a plane and batteries that could carry it.

So here's the question: What is the ideal set up for stills and video? If you had a clean slate, which plane and camera would you buy. If money is not an issue (not saying it's not but let's leave that out for now), what set up would you use? I don't necessarily want to send photos or video to a unit on the ground, just to the memory card in the camera.

Thanks for the advice,

Tom

aviatordave
07-13-2006, 04:38 AM
there are 3 planes that most people use.

1.) GWS Slow Stick (needs mods to carry camera)
2.) Mountain Models Magpie AP
3.) Easy Star (little mods needed)

theres alot more...cant think....

Cameras -well..

Nikon
3700 (good vid), 4600, 5600, 7600, 7900 (good vid), servo operated shutter, but I believe a USB control is being devolped.

Pentax
Optio series, most have IR control and a IR switch is available, S4, S5...check video qualities some have 30fps (fluid), some have 15 fps (choppy)......S6 & A10 have had some probs with picture

Cannon

S80 ($$ but awesome pics), A620 (replacement for the S80, $$)