PDA

View Full Version : Newbee to gligers - good first glider

lennyshotgun
07-13-2006, 03:49 PM
I've been flying electric for about 9 months - and I was thinking I'd try learning something new.
So - what is a good 1st plane?
The Easy Glider getting lots of attention, would you recommend for a beginner?
Thanks
Lenny

Don Sims
07-13-2006, 10:55 PM
Yes Lenny, a newbie could fly it, there are several threads here about it.

Sky Sharkster
07-15-2006, 01:36 AM
Hi Lenny, Welcome to the Sailplane Forum! I haven't flown the "Easyglider" myself but have seen it fly and it is a good first glider. It's durable, thermals easily and has a decent climb. I prefer balsa gliders myself but the "Easyglider" is one of the better foam ones.
Good Luck!
Ron

AEAJR
07-15-2006, 05:31 AM
We have a bunch of Easy Gliders and Easy Glider Electrics at our field. Wonderful plane!

jooNorway
07-30-2006, 03:39 PM
Although I have flown gliders for decades I have a lot of fun with my EG, and there are 6-7 others in my club who bought EG`s after they had tried mine both on the slope and high-start. It flies as a trainer, but it like it hard on the slope too if you are used to use the rudder!
Here is a short video I made when a friend of mine (sailplane newbie) played with it on a very small slope: http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=8624215605816521429&q=%22jooEasyGlider1%22+playable%3Atrue

To add weight in heavy winds I put a threadened (8mm) rod inside the wingrod. This adds 300 gram.

AEAJR
07-30-2006, 05:21 PM
jooNorway,

Great video. What were the conditions, do you recall?

jooNorway
07-30-2006, 06:41 PM
I think the wind were appr 5-6 m/sek. The ridge is really small, only 60 meters long and 10-12 meter height. But it works great 6 out of 7 days during the whole summer, thats why we use it so much. And the cars are parked 3 meters from the slope :)
Even a nice landingspot 30 meters to the right, there have been flown 3,5 meters WingSpan gliders here!

AEAJR
08-19-2006, 05:27 AM