PDA

View Full Version : Gws Warbirds Build Log

booger
07-15-2006, 12:09 AM
Well after recently completing a Gws Zero
http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8385
I decided to do a build thread. I am by no means a master builder, just thought this might help some people tackling there first gws warbird build.
To show these birds can be built, to be everyday flyers, and be able to withstand being thrown in the vehicle and hauled around with you.(I do HVAC for a living so I drive a van most of the time. and throw my birds in back for a quick ride to the park.)

So first off this will be a Me-109 build, Mostly stock stuff except for power system,and batteries.I will be glassing this model as I glass most of my foam birds. For durability as noted above. This will also have a removable cowl for motor access.

First up then making the battery compartment large enough for a 3 cell Lipo. I use a propane torch and heat a wire to do most of my enlarging. and then I open the air channel. For the battery to get air around it. If you butt a battery all the way to the front it blocks the air channel. So I widen this more than the battery as seen in pic below.

Next, I cut the cowl off of both fuse halves at the bulkhead. Then I install the pushrod tubes in both halves of the fuse and secure with scotch tape. Then you guessed it glue the two fuse halves together. I used 5 min epoxy for this very sparingly. Being careful to line up end, and to get a nice straight fuselage from front to back

Feel free to chime in as you like for discussion

Rob

Grasshopper
07-15-2006, 12:18 AM
Good luck with the build and thanks for posting it. I've been looking around at Messerschmitts and there just aren't a lot to choose from in the park flyer size range. I've heard positive and negative about the GWS so it will be good to watch it progress.

booger
07-15-2006, 01:04 AM