PDA

View Full Version : gws batts

big daddy
08-30-2005, 03:59 AM
after 3 flights my gws 7.2/270mah battery packs will not fully charge! my charger is a mcr superbrain 959 with peak detection so it says the batt is fully charged but when hooked tho the plane just not enough umph to get her airborn! 2 packs worked fine at the field the the next time I tried to use them this happened?

Twmaster
08-30-2005, 04:06 AM
That's an odd one. These are Nicads yes? What plane are you flying them on? I have no experience with the Super Brain but had similar problems with an FMA Super Nova false peaking and not fully recharging my packs. You may try a different charger if you have one or can borrow/talk a flying buddy into letting you use his. Run the pack until the battery gets low then see if you can charge it a a very low rate to see if that helps.

Also, do you know what charge rate the Super Brain is using to charge that pack? It is possible that the pack is damaged from overcharging.

If you could post some more details like charge rate, type of plane/motor/etc. This may help lead to an answer. Without more details anything that might be mentioned is just speculation.

--
Mike N

big daddy
08-30-2005, 04:17 AM
yes nicd.I manually set the charge rate 1 amp. as low as it will go. I fly them in a stock gws tiger moth

Twmaster
08-30-2005, 04:22 AM
1Amp! :eek: Oh. Well that explains it. I think you killed your battery. Those cells will not stand a ~4C charge rate too many times. You need a charger that will go down to not more than about 300mA to charge those smallish packs.

I fly a Pico Stik F and use a GWS 350mA nicad pack. I set my charger to ~400mA for that one.

It's also good for pack life to allow a cooling off between use/charge/use. Heat is your battery's enemy.

big daddy
08-30-2005, 04:36 AM