PDA

View Full Version : When is permission needed?

Grasshopper
08-02-2006, 07:24 PM
Just starting into the aerial photography hobby, I am curious as to when (or if) you need permission to overfly someone's property and photograph it? I understand that you need permission to be on private land but what about the airspace over it? Is it any different than if I were flying over and took pictures out the window from a commercial airliner?

Being an amature photographer, I have read up on release forms when you take someone's picture and and want to publish it. It also seems that lately a lot more places such as public tourist attractions and federal property are drawing closer scrutiny to photographers taking detailed pictures. Security and law enforcement are watching this much closer after 911.

I don't want to stirr up a big debate here but I was curious when I need to get permission before I fly over and start snapping pictures.

Tom

BBird
08-02-2006, 08:03 PM
I don't know about the legal aspects of this but my own "rule of thumb" is that it depends what you intend to do with the photorgraphs. If you are just taking pictures for your own, private, non-commerical use then written permission is a nice-to-have unless. If you intend to share the photos or, more importantly, sell them or use them in some way that makes you money (like as illustrations in a book or article) then permission is a must.

Just my opinion based on land-based photography. I am sure there are legal aspects I have not considered like the actual overflight of private property.

Kosh
08-02-2006, 08:12 PM
Thats a very good question, Private pilots have no restrictions as far as I can tell other than no fly zones and some government installations for photos. A landmark case was in the news not to long ago when Barbra Streisand sued a photographer for taking photos of her home from the air.