PDA

View Full Version : Bad motor + wind = Kinked Slow Stick Fuselage

mpotter187
08-09-2006, 01:34 PM
I am still learning to fly but have had success in very light winds when the motor made full power. I then noticed that the plane lacked power and couldn't even do a ROG takeoff. I could still hand launch and it had enough power to stay up. That was until yesterday, I made sure my batteries where charged, and the motor/gearbox was turning smoothly without and binding or excess play. Then during my lunch break went down to a local park and tried to fly. I had to hand launch again and the 400 motor in the slow stick could barely keep the plane airborne. I tried to climb so I could bring it back before it crashed, too late the wind kicked up and I was fighting for control. I lost control and proceeded to nose dive right into the ground. The prop saver kept me from breaking the prop, but directed all the energy right into motor causing the aluminum fuselauge to kink from the motor being pushed into it. Oh well I won't be lacking power now, I just ordered a Brushless motor LiPo combo along with a one piece fuselage :D. Check out the pic the gears are green from the chunk of sod I took when it nosed in.

firemanbill
08-09-2006, 02:31 PM
Too bad... The bright side though is you will be extremely happy with the brushless setup. It'll act like a different plane. I have the 400 xt on mine and can rog in about 2 1/2 feet! less if it's into the wind!:D

ForestCam
08-09-2006, 06:13 PM
Good place to kink it too! Just cut behind the kink and move the mount back. I had mine do the same thing right between the battery holders and all I did was cut the kinked area out then use the joiner section (that's supposed to go in the tail) to put it back togeather.
:D

crxmanpat
08-09-2006, 10:23 PM
You can easily take 4-5" off the Slow Stick boom and still had a good plane. In fact, a friend of mine cut 4" off and moved his tail feathers forward on his combat Stick.