PDA

View Full Version : Anyone have a really fast Stryker in here.

Gryphon
08-25-2006, 11:03 AM
Hi all,
I am fairly new to Watt-flyer, joined while back and forgot all about it.

I wanted to know if anyone has a high speed Stryker and what sort of power system are those running on.

I just finished mine about 2 weeks ago, but it has not had its maiden flight yet.
I would like to know what issues they came up against.
My Stryker's body has been beefened up with 2 C.F. tubes, Elevons are made of Plywood, lots of cooling has been provided for the two batteries on board and for the CC80 ESC. 2 cooling fins on the MEGA motor. A lot of 3M Extreme tape has been used as well.

*** I've been reading that some people are having issues at high speed.
Since I hate to loose my new bird I wanted to read more, so i could be better prepared.

p.s. I have been on RCuniverse, but like to see what this site has to offer.

Thank you in advance folks,

Gryphon

jsbzmcdaniel
08-27-2006, 04:44 PM
There aee many of us that have fast strykers. The setup I run that is recommended is the following:

Mega 16/25/4
CC Phoenix 35 Speed Controller
Hitec 85mg Servos
UBEC
Thunder Power 4s 2100 Lipo
6.5 x 6.5 Carbon Fiber Speed Prop or 7x7 Carbon Fiber

Hope this helps

Gryphon
08-28-2006, 03:22 AM
jsbzmcdaniel,
I think I remember you from RC-universe with same screen name, well same here (same screen name). If I remember right, GG told you about that setup.

I was looking for faster setups. Mine is a MEGA 22/30/2 on (2) 5cell Li-poly packs and CC80 ESC and APC pylon 6.5X6.5, 25,400 RPM at 76.25 AMPs and 1159 Watts, and 44.75O.Z. weight. Hovers one notch above half throttle on the transmitter (while holding the plane).

So I have the fast setup, I will maiden it in a week or two.