PDA

View Full Version : Aerial photos for Wetlands Conservation

Wetlands Scientist
08-28-2006, 08:44 AM
I'd like to explore the possibilities that high resolution digital, low-level aerial photos could be used to characterise the plant growth in a wide range of wetlands that are part of a major WWF wetlands conservation programme here in Pakistan. Most of these wetlands are difficult to access and very hard to move about in or on during survey work. Ideally, I'd like to develop a photo-sampling programme based on an electrically powered RC model.
I have about nine years of low-key RC flying experience. I have scratch-built a conventional 40 trainer and later a 40 low wing. Purchased my first electrically powered model, an EP-Sailor, just three moths ago.

Here's a rough spec:
∑ Portability: Electrically powered RC model that could be disassembled into a 6"x6"x48" transport case suitable to be carried by jeep, canoe, mule, yak(no kidding), human porter, etc.
∑ No undercarriage: Hand launch/belly landing.
∑ Maneuverability: For landing in tight places, ailerons may be necessary.
∑ Camera: High resolution digital camera, 5+ megapixels, with automatic exposure control and electronic shutter release.

Iíd appreciate hearing form anyone who has done something similar to this . . . .
Kind regards,
Richard

Kosh
08-28-2006, 09:05 AM
Hi Richard and Welcome to Wattflyer !!!

You have thought out just what you need carefully and there are a few planes that will work nicely for your project. First off I would really think about a foam plane as it floats should it ever go down in the water. The standard Mountain Models Magpie with a brushless motor and lipo power might be a fine choice. It needs no landing gear and is very rugged and durable. A brushless motor will haul a 6 to 8 ounce camera with ease and there is even a camera mount to fit the plane. I'm sure others will add to this post with a few other planes but here a few links to get you started.