PDA

View Full Version : Shogun 400 V2???

WWI Ace
08-31-2006, 12:17 AM
Hey guys would this be a good heli to learn collective pitch with? I fly on the Realflight G3 sim and taught myself to fly a fixed pitch micro heli. Steve.

BlizzardBoy
08-31-2006, 12:48 AM
Hey guys would this be a good heli to learn collective pitch with? I fly on the Realflight G3 sim and taught myself to fly a fixed pitch micro heli. Steve.

I'm no expert, but I don't think that would be a good heli to LEARN with, because it is expensive. You might want to try a cheaper helicopter... like a Blade CP. A lot of people fly those, and say they are easy to fly from. The BCP is a collective pitch heli as well. I don't have experince with the shogun (I did research on it, though), but I think it's an expensive bird.

It all depends on how much money you have though, I guess.

Have fun, and good luck! Tell me what you do get, eh?

-- Zan

Crash9
08-31-2006, 08:45 AM
Yeah the Shogun V2 is a good heli to learn with IMO and a stable flyer. My LHS has been slowly droping the price ($99). The parts aren't cheap... Use Trex parts where you can (blades 315, landing gear,etc). Don't go cheap when buying a Gyro, get the Futaba 401, this will greatly help you when learning to fly, so spend the extra $30-40 bucks it cost it'll save you on parts later. There's a reason why most pro r/c heli pilots use them. The Trex would also be a good learning heli if you got the $. They hold up great to crash abuse, but cost a little more to start with. None of them have to be set up for 3D and the instructions will tell you how to set it up for sport flying. Good Luck..:rolleyes:

WWI Ace
08-31-2006, 07:16 PM