WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Power Systems (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Gritty motor question (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72812)

cbreeze 12-16-2013 01:10 AM

Gritty motor question

Greetings,

I am new to electrics. I just bought a new small electric brushless motor from Hobby King to use in a foamie I am building. I got the motor and in the process of inspecting it, I noticed that when I turn the motor by hand, if feels "gritty" like something is rubbing inside. I have several larger brushless motors that to not do this. I was wondering if this is normal for a cheapie motor from China?

Thanks,

cbreeze

kyleservicetech 12-16-2013 01:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbreeze (Post 934537)
Greetings,

I am new to electrics. I just bought a new small electric brushless motor from Hobby King to use in a foamie I am building. I got the motor and in the process of inspecting it, I noticed that when I turn the motor by hand, if feels "gritty" like something is rubbing inside. I have several larger brushless motors that to not do this. I was wondering if this is normal for a cheapie motor from China?

Thanks,

cbreeze

H'mmm
If something is rubbing inside the motor, like the "bell" magnets hitting the stator, that motor won't last long when running under power.

hillbille 12-16-2013 01:50 AM

If you've had this motor OUT of it's box or out of the plastic bag it came in and on your bench it is possible that something small, say a washer or almost anything has been sucked into the magnets of the motor by the magnetic field of the motor. STOP turning it by hand.

Disassemble the motor over a clean area of your workspace and inspect it carefully. The object inside my be hidden between the magnets and may not be noticeable at first.