WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hi-Performance and Sailplanes (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   what glider to build (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72963)

drummaker 01-11-2014 05:16 AM

what glider to build

I know this has been beaten to death but here we go.

I currently own a Roc Hobby V tail glider. It is a foam V tail of course which is 2.2 meters.

I have discovered I love to thermal. I also love to build.

I have been considering
A DJ aerotech Chrysalis

Oly II by skybench Maybe even the 3

A Bird of Time

and just because I have never built one of his kits before
the Stevens Aero Glider.

I want a glider that will blow my Roc Hobby foamy away!

I have been pretty successful at thermaling with it but I just think a balsa would fly better...

True?

Will I really miss the ailerons and flaps?

If I decide I wanted full house which of the kits above would be easier to modify, and being in poor health, a motor is mandatory.

is way bigger really way better?

Opinions wanted

Oh ya... Why the hell isn't anyone making full house quality glider kits designed up front for a motor?

fhhuber 01-11-2014 05:47 AM

Any well built wood framed sailplane will outperform the foamies.

I'd start with Bird of time. Build is a little challenging in a couple of places but not hard if you pay attention to detail.

Use yellow wood glue (Alphatic resin... Titebone II, Elmer's Carpenter's Glue) for most of the build and use just the right amount for maximum strength with minimum weight.