WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Foamies (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Flew my new Hobby People Waco (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72977)

abborgogna 01-13-2014 07:27 PM

Flew my new Hobby People Waco
 
Took the new bright red Hobby People Waco Bi-Plane out for the first time this morning. After a couple of trim flights it seemed to be doing well. I need to play a little with the CG but it definitely has good possibilities. Anyone else out there flying one of these planes?
Andy

dacaur 02-01-2014 09:41 PM

not flying one but have been looking at it with interest.... $100 for a RR plane this size is almost too good to pass up, but then, I have seen people burned by stuff that was too good to pass up but turned out to be crap.... definitely interested in hearing your thoughts on it... The biggest thing keeping me from seriously considering it right now is that there is NO info on it anywhere, no reviews, nothing, that I can find........

abborgogna 02-01-2014 11:34 PM

OK, here is the straight skinny with my Waco. I was flying with a 1300mha battery which is about an ounce lighter than the recommended 1500mha. When I switched to a 1500mha battery the CG seemed right on.

Real problems encountered, the struts from the fuselage to the upper wing pulled away from the fuselage. They used some kind of rubber cement glue. I cleaned off all the original glue and then glued the struts using epoxy. So far so good, I also changed the elevator servo, I had a couple if incidents where the plane would nose down without any elevator input. Now in fairness to HP this could have been the cabane struts coming loose, but servos are so cheap I decided not to chance it. Since gluing the struts and replacing the servo the plane is flying quite nicely.

One thing to remember this is a flat bottom airfoil, and the old saying "you control the altitude with throttle and speed with the elevator." is really true. Full throttle she climbs, throttle low she comes down and somewhere in between she fly's very scale like. Takeoffs and landings are predictable, I love tail draggers! All in all on a scale of 1 to 5, I would give the Waco a 3.5. One last thing the scale prop that come with the plane, works but I prefer the way it fly's with an APC 9x6E. That's just a preference not a slam on the stock prop.

Hope that helps.
Andy

dacaur 02-02-2014 12:43 AM

how tough is it to assemble/dissasemble? i really dont have room for a fully assembled plane that size, at home or in the jeep.... I have my GWS pico tigermoth that stays fully assembled, and thats about as big as I can do, otherwise it has to come apart in the car...

abborgogna 02-02-2014 06:29 AM

Assembly took about two hours. I leave my assembled, it fits behind the seat in my Ford Ranger. It's really not a big plane, go to a Hobby People and take a look at one, you might be surprised at the size.

propnut48 02-27-2014 01:06 AM

propnut48
 
I also purchased the Waco and on its maiden it would not get off the ground as it was so underpowered all i could do is taxi. I install a higher 1540KV motor and have not been able to test it yet but it has quite a bit more power then the 900KV stock motor. Was an easy swap. I installed a 2200 30C battery and it is right on the balance specs. I have talked to 4 other people and all said the same think about being underpowered. I will need to check the strut mounts as they do not look very sturdy. Will let you know as to how it flies.

abborgogna 02-27-2014 06:31 AM

I too switched to 3s 2200mha batteries with no problems. As for the motor issue mine has plenty of power with the stock motor. Sounds to me like there is something very wrong with your motor. Which Hobby People store did you get it from? My power problem occurred about 15 flights into the program. My ESC just smoked when I plugged in the battery. The good news is it happened in the back of my truck, not in the air. I replaced it with a 36amp CC ESC, so far so good.

propnut48 02-27-2014 04:00 PM

propnut48
 
I purchased it at the Redlands H/P. I bought a new replacement motor and it was the same. I also replaced the ESC to a slightly higher amp rating and rated for a 4S pack too. When I replaced the motor to a higher KV motor it came alive and had lots of pull. I'm not using the stock prop as it is too thin and no pitch. I'm using an APC 9X5.5 electric prop. I want to go to El Mirage dry lake or Rabbit dry lake and try it out. I also have the H/P Zero and it's great. Not real fast but a very good flier.

pizzano 02-27-2014 04:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by propnut48 (Post 941084)
I purchased it at the Redlands H/P. I bought a new replacement motor and it was the same. I also replaced the ESC to a slightly higher amp rating and rated for a 4S pack too. When I replaced the motor to a higher KV motor it came alive and had lots of pull. I'm not using the stock prop as it is too thin and no pitch. I'm using an APC 9X5.5 electric prop. I want to go to El Mirage dry lake or Rabbit dry lake and try it out. I also have the H/P Zero and it's great. Not real fast but a very good flier.

Welcome to Wattflyer propnut48.......I too frequent the Redlands, CA. Hobby People shop, since I live and fly in the Highland, north San Bernardino and Yucaipa area..........that shop has two pretty knowledgable fixed wing folks there. The young manager (nice little lady) has been flying since she was 7yrs. old......she's got game.

I've never purchased any planes from them (except quite a few GWS parts and Tiger Moth, Slow Stick kits)........I'm sold on Parkzone, E-Flight Blade and Spektrum, which they do not carry.

Good to see you here at Wattflyer.....it's one of the most tolerating and knowledgable web-sites related to fixed wing craft on the internet!

abborgogna 02-27-2014 04:42 PM

I too stopped using the stock prop. I switched to an APC 9x6E and it does get the job done. I still don't understand why your motor didn't get it done and mine has no problem. I even do some basic scale stunts, loops stall turns and big barrel rolls. I still think there was something wrong with the original motor or the ESC had a problem, or the transmitter was limiting the motor speed. If you want, send me the failing motor and I will do a comparison against mine and see what the difference is. I hate problems like this, they make no sense to me.
Andy

propnut48 02-27-2014 08:45 PM

propnut48
 
Yea , not really sure what was going on with the motor. i looked at the stator and couldn't see any faulty wires. I installed a new motor just like the old one and changed the ESC and still the same. Even tried a 45C 2200 Mah bat. and no change. Can't believe that I might have 2 bad motors,but..... I had a 1500+Kv motor sitting around and installed it in it and it came to life. Will probably use them in a twin I may build in the future. All's good now though.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:53 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.08631 seconds with 13 queries