WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Support & Suggestions (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=52)
-   -   Hex Help (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73161)

Gyrfalcon 02-09-2014 12:24 PM

Hex Help
 
Hi everyone I hope you can help, I have bought a ready Made Hexcopter with a Ardupilot and AR6200 receiver. I then purchased a DX6I Transmitter. I am a complete novice and have never used any RC before, Im pleased with myself because I have managed to bind the Radio, download the flight planner and get the motors running. Here is my problem, when I tried the transmitter on the screen everything looks as it should except when I flick any of the switches nothing happens on any of the Green bars. I just want a basic function of if im in trouble when flying I can flick a switch and the hex will Loiter, what have I not done right?
Thanks in advance ????

tobydogs 02-09-2014 12:48 PM

good morning falcon and welcome to watt flyer!:ws:

wow! that is a huge question and the sequence's of programing can be daunting task to even the experienced ,and more so to the beginner. someone here will talk you through it,but my humble advise is you seek out someone in your area to help explain the many benefits of a comp TX.

i haven't go a clue about dxi6's and just wanted to welcome you here to wattflyer this beautiful Sunday morning.stu

Flubber 02-09-2014 03:24 PM

On the DX6i the gear and aux channels need to be connected to the flight controller (ardupilot) for the signal to get to controller. So you should have at least six connections from the receiver to the flight controller. If you have six connections then the gear and aux channel are not connected to the correct input on the controller. Also check in the radio that those channels are not inhibited.

I hope that helps Terry

pizzano 02-09-2014 04:59 PM

Here are a few links that deal with the Dx6i and Ardupilot:

http://code.google.com/p/ardupilot/wiki/TransmitterDX6i

http://ardupilot-mega.googlecode.com.../APMModes.wiki

http://diydrones.com/group/arducopte...Group%3A394475

http://www.multirotorforums.com/show...-channel-radio

The Ardupilot web site seems to have been modified and does not provide service for all Spektrum TX's as it once had......hate to say it, but you couldn't have picked a more complicated system to work with since it has been up-dated several times and requires firmware samples to effectively handle Spektrum TX's........I had a buddy who tried this system last summmer.......he has since moved on to Naza.

Gyrfalcon 02-09-2014 05:05 PM

help
 
Thanks for such quick replys, I have realised only the input side of Ardupilot to number 5 is filled so I should have another wire? On the receiver I have one port free, it says Aux1 do I put wire here?
Thanks Guys

Gyrfalcon 02-09-2014 05:18 PM

help
 
I thought I would explain what I want to do with the Hex, I want to use it to train Falcons, I tie a pair of Pigeon wings on a release clip 20 feet below the Hex, I want the Hex to fly max 100yards out from me to a max of 500 feet and hold its position. I would like to flip a switch to make it hold its position, I would also like to flip another switch and it return to launch.
Is that possible? or am I expecting to much from it?
Is there people who can program it for me for a fee? Im between Southampton and Salisbury, is there anyone in my area?

Flubber 02-09-2014 05:33 PM

All of that is within the programing, but there is a steep learning curve. With the Naza lite system instead of the APM you could do all of this with just basic set up software.

Fly to the spot let go of the sticks and it will hold position. Flip a switch to engage failsafe and it will fly home. Still some learning but much easier in my opinion. I have four NAZA machines and one that uses the mission planner like yours.

Gyrfalcon 02-09-2014 05:39 PM

help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Flubber (Post 939556)
All of that is within the programing, but there is a steep learning curve. With the Naza lite system instead of the APM you could do all of this with just basic set up software.

Fly to the spot let go of the sticks and it will hold position. Flip a switch to engage failsafe and it will fly home. Still some learning but much easier in my opinion. I have four NAZA machines and one that uses the mission planner like yours.

What parts would I have to replace to use the Nazza lite system? is it expensive?

Flubber 02-09-2014 06:53 PM

The system includes a flight controller, gps/compass unit and BEC. here is a link http://www.dji.com/product/naza-m-lite/

I have paid between one sixty and two hundred dollars for the complete system. it replaces the ardupilot.

Gyrfalcon 02-09-2014 07:11 PM

help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Flubber (Post 939563)
The system includes a flight controller, gps/compass unit and BEC. here is a link

I have paid between one sixty and two hundred dollars for the complete system. it replaces the ardupilot.

Im now wondering if I should just put it on e-bay and then buy a Phantom!


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:07 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.08214 seconds with 13 queries