WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Batteries & Chargers (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   power supply for charger (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73327)

njbipes 03-11-2014 07:53 PM

power supply for charger
 
I bought a 12v 30amp power supply put out by Nitrorcthunder sold through Direct-deals4u on ebay. I've had it since Oct 2013 and used it 6 times since I haven't been flying due to winter. I died yesterday. I contacted the co. and because it's outside the 30 day warranty they will look at it to fix with an estimated cost, without seeing it yet, of $15 - 30. It cost $57 new. If any of you out there have similar stories let everyone know. If you've had good luck with a power supply for your dc charger let us know that also. After my experience with this product I can't recommend it.

JetPlaneFlyer 03-11-2014 08:09 PM

Best bet is to get yourself a Computer server power supply. Because they are made to operate servers they are made to a high quality and very high reliability, unlike the hobby stuff which is often cheap junk in comparison. Even second hand server PSU's are very dependable.

The easiest one to use is probably the HP DPS-600PB. They are very common and can be picked up off eBay dirt cheap. A single DPS-600PB will give 12V and 48Amps, and costs about $20 off eBay. Conversion consists only of soldering on a couple of bullet connectors for DC output and jumpering a couple of pins together to turn the unit on, 30 minutes work at the most, you dont even need to take the case off the unit to do it.

PS, there is a photo of my old dual DPS-600PB PSU in the first photo of this thread, along with my new 'mega PSU' the ESP120.... The lights in the neighbourhood dim when i power that thing up:D

CHELLIE 03-11-2014 10:07 PM

If you have a old pc power supply, you can make your own charger power supply from it.

http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...c+power+supply

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/images/icons/icon1.gif Computer Power Supply How To
http://www.marcee.org/Articles/PCPowerSupply.htm

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply

http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...r+power+supply

http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/atta...7&d=1380491112

njbipes 03-12-2014 12:24 AM

charger
 
Thanks for the replys. picked up 2 DPS-600PB's for $30.

sidybee 03-12-2014 05:02 AM

i tried a pc power supply supposed to be 12 v @20 amp ya right would not run my charger got error code not enough imput

kyleservicetech 03-12-2014 05:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sidybee (Post 942282)
i tried a pc power supply supposed to be 12 v @20 amp ya right would not run my charger got error code not enough imput

If you want a "Plug and Play" power supply for your charger, brand new, warrantied units are available for about $40.
http://www.mpja.com/12-Volt-Power-Su...fo/18435%20PS/

There are also a number of wattflyer readers that are selling computer server power supplies with a fixed 12 Volt DC, 50 Amp output. Several of my club members have bought them, and are well satisfied.

These power supplies just require a three wire AC plug with hot, neutral and ground wire for AC input. And their 12 Volt DC output is a simple screw terminal.

I've got one rated at 24 Volts DC at 25 Amps, but these are hard to find now days.

JetPlaneFlyer 03-12-2014 07:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njbipes (Post 942260)
Thanks for the replys. picked up 2 DPS-600PB's for $30.


If you intend to run them in series to get 24V output then there is a modification that must be done on the second PSU to disconnect the DC output side from ground.

Any problems PM me, I've done it before.

hayofstacks 03-12-2014 04:58 PM

I've been using an old power supply for several small chargers for close to two years now without any issue.

kyleservicetech 03-12-2014 05:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by njbipes;942234[B
I died yesterday.

LOL, you might want to add a "T" to "I died yesterday"!

sidybee 03-12-2014 09:52 PM

ok got mine to work .. apparently there r wire's 12v 1amp and up on this one .i had it on the wrong one hahahahaha .its working fine now........ now back to building........you know that watt meter is coming in handy glad you guys talked me into getting one thanks

CHELLIE 03-12-2014 11:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sidybee (Post 942362)
ok got mine to work .. apparently there r wire's 12v 1amp and up on this one .i had it on the wrong one hahahahaha .its working fine now........ now back to building........you know that watt meter is coming in handy glad you guys talked me into getting one thanks

Great, Glad you got it working :ws: Yea, the Wattmeter will save you a bundle, it will keep you from burning up a lot of electronic parts :D I would say my Wattmeter has saved me over 300.00 over the years, its great for matching props to power systems so you dont over amp your electronics and fry them. take care, Chellie


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:30 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 WattfFlyer.com
RCU Eflight HQ

Page generated in 0.08232 seconds with 13 queries