WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Electric Discussions (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   12 Volt Jump-Start Battery As Power Source (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73329)

garyp1029 03-11-2014 08:48 PM

12 Volt Jump-Start Battery As Power Source

I tried to start a new thread (my first) with this question, but could not get it to go through. I am a newbie, so this may be a dumb question, but . . .
Can a 12 volt, 17 AH Jump-Start battery be used as a power source for a charger such as the Cellpro Multi 4 or the Icharger 106B+? Is 17 AH sufficient? Are there any disadvantages? Thanks. Gary

CHELLIE 03-11-2014 10:09 PM

it will work for smaller lipos, but will poop out real fast with larger lipos.

crxmanpat 03-11-2014 10:09 PM

Gary,

I created a new thread for you. Basically, all you need to do is figure out which forum you want to post in, then create your thread there using the "New Thread" button located at the top left of the forum. I put this in the General Electric Discussions for you.

As to your question, yes you can use that battery to charge with, depending on how big your packs are (if 3 cell packs, you should be just fine). When I first started, I bought a deep cycle marine battery to take to the field with me. But now I just use my car battery.

fhhuber 03-11-2014 10:35 PM

You can look up the "amp-hour" rating for the battery in that jump starter pack.

Multiply by 12 (volts) and you get the estimated watt-hr capacity.

Divide by 2. Save this number

Take each you plan to charge and multiply nominal voltage by mah capacity. Divide by 1000.
That will be watt-hr capacity of the pack.