WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight

WattFlyer RC Electric Flight Forums - Discuss radio control eflight (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/index.php)
-   Vintage and old timer models (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   question about electric conversion on CG falcon III... (http://www.Wattflyer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73529)

billp 04-09-2014 04:29 AM

question about electric conversion on CG falcon III...

y'all;
hello, im a newbie to rc planes.
i have a falconIII model plane that i finished converting to electric drive.
it was a kit i purchased over 20 years ago, and i finally got a chance to finish it this year.
the thing about the conversion, is that it bumped up the published flying weight from 4.5 lbs to 5 lbs, 12 oz.
the motor is an eflite power32, and the battery is a 4S, 3200mAh lipo.
the speed control is an eflite60 ESC.
now, i haven't flown the falconIII yet. i will be asking an experienced flyer at the flying club to take it up for a test flight.
however, before i do that, i would like to get any opinions from experienced flyers of the falconIII and falcon 56 airplanes, on the following question:

- is the current flying weight of my electric - converted falconIII
too heavy ???

thanx in advance, for your time.

billp

CHELLIE 04-09-2014 04:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by billp (Post 944951)
y'all;
it was a kit i purchased over 20 years ago, and i finally got a chance to finish it this year.
the thing about the conversion, is that it bumped up the published flying weight from 4.5 lbs to 5 lbs, 12 oz.
now, i haven't flown the falconIII yet. i will be asking an experienced flyer at the flying club to take it up for a test flight.
however, before i do that, i would like to get any opinions from experienced flyers of the falconIII and falcon 56 airplanes, on the following question:

too heavy ???

billp

your good to go :D you have a big wing span and lots of Square Inches of surface.